Facebook Ban: The Take of PTA

Below is the text of email that the Spokesperson of PTA sent me on my query about the ban on Facebook along side many other websites in Pakistan in the wake of a Lahore High Court Order on Draw Mohammad Day Page of Facebook:

Pakistan Telecommunication Authority

Director (Public Relations), Headquarters, F-5/1, Islamabad

Ph. 051 2878152, Fax.051 9219921

May 20, 2010

YOUTUBE SHUT DOWN IN PAKISTAN

PTA has directed all concerned operators to shut down websitewww.youtube.com in view of growing sacrilegious contents on it. It may be mentioned that PTA after all possible avenues were used within its jurisdiction, including using regular channels available on the FACEBOOK and YOUTUBE to launch protest, to avoid appearances of derogatory material available on their websites – which increased in numbers as time passed by, that PTA decided to completely shut down these sites from being viewed within Pakistan. PTA has so far blocked more than 450 links on internet containing derogatory material.

It was not only in line with the Constitution of Pakistan, the wishes of the people of Pakistan but also an extension of the court orders passed by the honorable High Court of Pakistan and directions of the Government of Pakistan. PTA has already announced a phone number and a complaint number to receive complaints on the issue.

The attitude of administrators at FACEBOOK and YOUTUBE was in contravention to the WSIS Resolutions and their own policies advertised on the web for general public. PTA would welcome the concerned authorities of FACEBOOK and YOUTUBE to contact the PTA for resolving the issue at the earliest which ensures religious harmony and respect.

(Khurram A. Mehran)

Director (PR)

57 thoughts on “Facebook Ban: The Take of PTA

  1. ?? says:

    I in addition to my pals happened to be taking note of the best secrets and techniques on your web blog and then then developed a horrible suspicion I never thanked the web site owner for those secrets. My young boys appeared to be absolutely glad to read all of them and already have truly been tapping into them. Many thanks for truly being really thoughtful and then for deciding on certain cool useful guides millions of individuals are really wanting to discover. Our own honest apologies for not expressing appreciation to sooner. 4

    Like

  2. Burton Haynes says:

    Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any points for newbie blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

    Like

  3. Alberta Abdalla says:

    Its like you read my thoughts! You appear to understand a lot about this, such as you wrote the e book in it or something. I feel that you just can do with a few p.c. to drive the message home a little bit, however instead of that, that is excellent blog. A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

    Like

  4. Yon Bednarczyk says:

    Hey, just in case anyone was interested in cheap hosting, check out Hostgator hosting..
    It’s really cheap, and with a business plan completely unlimited. If you do end up wanting to give it a shot here are a few coupons I used.

    CostChomp25 gives you 25% off your entire cart purchase.
    CostChomp994 will give you 9.94 off your purchase(which would really work out great if you wanted to try it a month)

    HostGator Hosting

    Like

  5. Karena Frenz says:

    You could certainly see your enthusiasm in the work you write. The world hopes for more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

    Like

  6. kortingscode says:

    This is one of the best blogs I enjoyed this read in this blog.I m absolutely excited to get to read such a well blog.The amount of data that I get is truly great.This is an good masterpiece.I m truly impressed

    Like

  7. getting debt advice says:

    Oh my goodness! a tremendous article dude. Thank you Nevertheless I’m experiencing concern with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting an identical rss downside? Anybody who is aware of kindly respond. Thnkx

    Like

  8. garden strimmer says:

    My wife and i were really excited that Michael managed to round up his inquiry out of the precious recommendations he received out of your web site. It’s not at all simplistic just to always be making a gift of instructions which usually some others might have been making money from. And now we understand we need you to thank for that. These explanations you’ve made, the simple blog menu, the friendships you make it easier to foster – it is everything wonderful, and it’s facilitating our son and our family reckon that that theme is satisfying, and that’s unbelievably indispensable. Thank you for all!

    Like

  9. golf training aids says:

    Hey I am so thrilled I found your web site, I really found you by error, while I was researching on Google for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a incredible post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

    Like

  10. computer forensics says:

    Just Now found your website while browsing on yahoo for some information.I love what you have done here. You seem to have developed quite a community here. Shows what a bit of useful info without the frills is what most people are looking for.

    Like

  11. forex signal software says:

    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appearance. I must say you’ve done a great job with this. In addition, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Chrome. Excellent Blog!

    Like

  12. opticians in moray says:

    The very heart of your writing while sounding reasonable initially, did not settle perfectly with me personally after some time. Someplace within the sentences you were able to make me a believer but just for a while. I however have got a problem with your jumps in logic and you might do well to fill in those gaps. If you can accomplish that, I could undoubtedly end up being fascinated.

    Like

  13. how to attract women says:

    My accomplice and I actually loved studying this weblog post, I was simply itching to know do you trade featured posts? I am at all times trying to find somebody to make trades with and merely thought I’d ask.

    Like

  14. cooking says:

    Yesterday found your site while browsing on yahoo for some information.Impressed by your blog. Its both informative and interesting. The advice should help many of your visitors. Thanks.

    Like

  15. Jerold Pitch says:

    I recently came across your article and have been reading along. I want to express my admiration of your writing skill and ability to make readers read from the beginning to the end. I would like to read newer posts and to share my thoughts with you.

    Like

  16. led grow light review says:

    The different types of these lights include , Incandescent Grow Lights, LED Grow Lights and Metal Halide Lamps. While many or mostof them have been chosen at one point and are still utilizedin this point of time to some level, LED Grow Lighting are the highly chosen light sources begining since the day they were introduced.

    Like

  17. Sammie Fyler says:

    Attractive part of content. I simply stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact loved account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing on your feeds and even I achievement you access persistently fast.

    Like

  18. gps watch says:

    Nowadays many men use cybersex on the internet. There is a giant number of websites offering sex webcams, live cams, cam2cam and so on. Check out sex webcams into google there are more than 32 mio pages. So I trust this is in fact an important industry and growing more and more.Livecam Sex

    Like

  19. Lose 10 Pounds says:

    I would like to consider the ability of saying thanks to you for your professional advice I have enjoyed viewing your site. We are looking forward to the commencement of my university research and the whole prep would never have been complete without coming to your web blog. If I can be of any help to others, I will be pleased to help by means of what I have gained from here.

    Like

  20. Diann Ekas says:

    I’ve been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or blog posts on this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this site. Reading this info So i’m happy to convey that I have an incredibly good uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed. I most certainly will make certain to do not forget this website and give it a glance on a constant basis.

    Like

  21. Rebecka Galbreth says:

    Hi, i feel that i noticed you visited my website so i came to “return the want”.I am attempting to to find issues to enhance my site!I guess its ok to make use of a few of your concepts!!

    Like

  22. xrumer seo says:

    Most beneficial xrumer linkbuilding services – gain High rankings as well as substantial site traffic with our impressive oneway links programs. Profitable & economical back links services ever! XrumerGod.com – search-engine – link building – online marketing – search engine marketing tactics – social media marketing

    Like

  23. Betsey Schwall says:

    My brother recommended I might like this web site. He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

    Like

  24. car rental cardiff says:

    Yesterday found your website while browsing on aol for some information.This is my first visit. I found so many entertaining posts on your blog. From the tons of comments on your posts, looks like you have a real interested crowd visiting regularly! Kudos!

    Like

  25. francisco lawyers says:

    Recently found your blog while browsing on aol for some information.Hey.. I’m not much into reading, but ended up reading lots of articles on your blog. Very interesting posts and comments, and very useful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

