The Islam that is Practiced

Bad smell, huge mass of disoriented people – young and oldn well mostly old – litter, noise, unwanted pushing. . . That was Islamabad airport when I entered this morning at 9 am to catch my Karachi flight. What has gone wrong with place in just few months? I realised that it had been over three months since my last visit. But still, has plane-riding population grown Hyperbolicaly or has PIA introduced cheap meal-less tickets like United Air of USA? Whatever, I thought and proceeded to the window for getting your tickets printed if you've already bought online. You're issued a Passenger Name Record number (commonly called PNR). I had stored it in my blackberry. Tried to get but gosh, it was lost! Another fifteen minutes sorting it out with an extremely lazy man sitting on the window. He seemed tired and disinterested. But why, the day has just started, I thought. The next was getting inside the port building, get boarding card and board on the plane. The ticket checker on the gate suddenly got apprehensive of me and asked my personal identification. Don't know why, but I suddenly thought of My Name is Khan, who introduced himself: "My name is Khan and I'm not a terrorist". All the passengers were comfortably getting in and taking their boarding passes. Why me then? I felt like screaming: I'm wearing a sari/bindi and I'm not a spy! Got the pass and proceeded to the lounge. Unbearable smell of sweat. Heads, uncountable. Felt like throwing up. Ran towards the rest rooms only to find ladies packed in that narrow rest room. Chose to have a chit chat with the care-taker of the toilet. Yes, we do have care-takers in public toilets. We lack basic courtesy to flush, clean and dry the toilet after use. I heard we're Muslims and half of our faith lies in cleanliness. I hope I wouldn't die before seeing it happening! The care-taker, Theresa (we have a tradition of keeping minorities especially Christians on certain jobs), looked visibly disturbed. On enquiring she told me, its a Jaddah flight taking people for Umra – the voluntary pilgrimage to Mecca. Here we are. I recalled my father who once came back from Juma prayer and lamented how wasteful Muslims are when it comes to use of water in ablution. He also was wary of people doing ablution and not drying the area after that. I also recalled the condition of the toilet of a mosque when I had to use it once. Is there something genetically wrong with Muslims? Or what exactly? Please help me understand. I'll switch off my cell 'coz the hosrtess says so!

89 thoughts on “The Islam that is Practiced

  1. RizziElahi says:

     
    Muslims in India and Pakistan are mostly convert. Convert Muslims always tend to over do the religion. Preachers in India and Pakistan did the same thing to Islam there. Over do to Islam was only multiplied over the years in India and Pakistan , Which caused unnecessary fear of Allah all the times in the heart and minds of people.
    Allah is not Jalad or Hitler, Allah is forgivable and love us all. Fear Allah that is why we have to make sure we are good humans but do not miss out all the fun Allah has for you on earth. Specially women paid the highest price.
    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Rizwan-Rizzi-Elahi/116783941665298?ref=ts

    Like

  2. Ayesha says:

    Well! Marvi , it is the  people who have to be blamed not the religion. we are self conceited idiots, who write in the in internation level newspapers " Mairay Mutabiq " Dr. Shahid Masood, a  self opinionated  top class journalist"" hahahahah what a shame !

    Like

  3. RizziElahi says:

    Baghi I agree with as title it self explains the intentions of your article. I blame to our Mullah system, Unless these Mullah's are state controlled and have some kind of qualification before they take over our Mosques. Islam will be hijacked by ignorant Mullahs and the people who fall for them. Results are in front of us. We are only going into drains. Clearly shows Allah is even hating us for the way we have adopted Islam. 

    Like

  4. Huma says:

    and these are the people claiming that they'll change the world for better, in name of Islam. Do they even know the basic hygiene and ethics? The one category they are worst in is ETHICS…..

    Like

  5. Huma says:

    In the beginning of Islam the mosque would be the place everybody will be welcomed to. The Prophet himself would welcome jews, christians and everyone there, in today's time if a Shia (Ehl-e-Ta'shee) goes to a Wahabi (Ehl-e-Hadith) mosque there is a greater chance of clash; if not at least they'll wash the mosque after they're gone. How the hell do we think these Mullahs will "direct" us towards the betterment of their choice.

    Like

  6. Rohit says:

    Well… I gues… its not much to do with being or not being Muslim… Its about the social & economic class… as you've mentioned… Cheap meal-less tickets have increased the airport usage… and the facilities are short of capacity… 
    Hmm… yup the point to be noted at the crux is… The Islam That is practised… so there we go… and from what I understand a clean & pure body is pre requisite for spiritual growth.

    Like

  7. HASEEB AHMAD says:

    We impose religion to others to practice, but inside nobody is following religion  especially the spirit of an religion.we clean our body.but spreading trash for others in  the same time.

    Like

  8. absurd surd says:

    All 3 parts of Punjab are uniquely susceptible to hypocrisy & excessive show of piety. Perhaps a brutal history religious persecution would account for this fact.  The State further complicates the picture in Western Punjab as it depends on religion to rally an impoverished populace to causes that it would otherwise scarcely care for. Islam will separate its religion from existential reality as time goes by. But can the middle class throw off the State's yokel? That, & not Muslim genetics( know you jest), is the question.  Happy rebellion in a just cause!

    Like

  9. Amir says:

    wow, I see you've got countless issues with Islam. no problem with the passage of time, you'll understand things.  Regarding the bath thingy, well this isn't because of islam if you go to any public toilet in developing countries you'll find the same thing.  However, you won't find this thing in middle east where lots of Muslims live so it has nothing to do with Islam, got it?  This is sort of illiteracy.

    Another thing is regarding abultion, your father noticed that muslim wasted a lot of water but he didn't notice that there's no religion on earth who emphasize a lot on cleaness more than Islam.  ablution five times a day keeps the filthiness away from one. YOu should visit remote area of France or europe where people don't like to wash or clean, I hope you'll enjoy your tour there :). If someone wasting water, it's their own fault, islam didn't ask to waste water. Did you find anywhere where Islam asked that don't care of water while ablution. Last but not the least thing, when you observe or notice the things then think unbiasedly. People personal's acts has nothing to do with their religion. And one more thing I've noticed that you need to study a lot about Islam so that you really get to know what exactly islam is? even after facing lots of propagandas, it keeps spreading so there must be something which really attracts people. I hope I removed your confusion.  Thanks.

    Like

  10. Arun says:

    Islam being the most strict religion (as far as i know, with all rules and regulations), you expecting people to be self-concious (clean and keepin the mileu clean) is correct. But following Islam or abiding its rules is not going to teach people about social responsibility (for this matter any other religion). Religion should be kept apart and should be personal. Wen one comes out see the wider world he/she should be sensitive and responsible about others sufferings, which is not the case anywhere. So with out social responsibility and kindness in heart wat ever religion you follow you are not complete and god wil never accept yu.

    Like

  11. Asif Ali says:

    Bravo, atleast there is someone out there who feels exactly how I do – I remember Nietzsche saying “decadence” and despite being blessed with a great religion of ISLAM, we are more inclined towards our tribal traditions (which I am not) and run this country like a “serfdom” state of Russia.

    I went through the same when I landed in Islamabad from Chicago and Gosh I came to “realize” that WE are highly ill-organized, rude & incompetent.

    Like

  12. flight checker says:

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

    Like

  13. Asif Ali says:

    Today’s Islam is NOT the same we used to have in the days of Prophet Mujammad Sal’lallaho Ailahi Wa’alihi Wassalam, the Britsh came to India and introduced “innovations” through their paid Mullahs. The same Muslims who were tolerant and wide behaviours became Deobandis and Ahmadis who felt it is their job to kill their fellow Muslims.

    In Arabia they (British) created the “Saudi Arabia” instead Mohammdan Arabia, they incited Arab to revolt against Ottoman Turks with the help of Al-Saud and Hashemite Sheriffs.

    Islam was spread in India by many Sufis (AwliyaAllahs) like Khawaja Moinuddin Chishti who converted 9 million Hindus without threatening them with sword and many Sufis did that all across India.

    In Ahle-Sunnah, there are four Imams and nobody called another one a devil, a derivative, an innovator BUT the new generation of Mullahs did that. That started criticizing the other followers, labelled them as “innovators” and came to fist and blows when they think they will lose the ground.

    If ISLAM was violent, why Prophet Muhammad declared to people after the blood-less conquest of Mecca “We are moving now to a bigger Jihad” and why he ordered to spare men who don’t want to fight, why he ordered the enemy (kuffars) protected when they drop the sword & why Prophet Muhammad ordered not to harm women and children.

    ISLAM was and is NOT violent – In this modern age, let me tell you that every so-called Extremist Islamic Organizations are basically being funded and supervised by CIA.

    The rhetoric is easy, make your enemy look like stronger so you can “mow’ them later on, it is just like when CIA herself equipped USSR and provided them with sophisticated technology so they could develop themselves into a formidable enemy – BUT They (CIA) were careful to keep this “technology transfer” upto a certain limit.

    Like

  14. Asif Ali says:

    I also need to tell people that ISLAM is tolerant and ISLAM can co-exist with all other religions.

    Since ISLAM is a Monotheistic religion, we all believe in One Supreme Diety that is Almighty God and hence all three Abrahamic religions i.e. Judaism, Christianity and Islam believes in Monotheism. So according to the commandments of Allah there should be no Polytheism.

    This is a nice blog and we should make a healthy discussion, and yes I have book-marked it too.

    Like

  15. Asif Ali says:

    Is this blog being used to mock Islam or the author is feeling kinda allergic to common people – However the airline staff is always hazy in what to do about the rush hour.

    Like

    • Baaghi says:

      I would appreciate if you could respond to the issues raised in the post. Do you see otherwise? Do you think its not the reality of the way we have started living while using islam for everything else? Your response (sensible and objective rather than baseless emotionality) is awaited. Many thanks for caring to comment.

      Like

  16. Asif Ali says:

    Marvi-ji, you are a gorgeous lady and I have no intention to abuse the subject or try to derail the topic or cause your any embarassment and I know that you’re a busy lady but my point of view is “Despite of what is asked [to obey] in our religion, we have not learnt from it, we definitely are ignorants” – In US thanks is a norm, and when I come back here, It hurt so bad to see people going haywire on the streets while drivin’ BUT let’s not “accuse” Islam for failing – We
    live in a tribal society where the decision is made through the barrel of a gun, we are rude, arrogant people living in a land where justice is long been raped, dead and buried.

    We are the people George Carlin talks about – I am sorry if I have caused you any inconvenience. Next time you be sure that I behave and I promise…. Mucho Gracias

    Like

  17. Alam Iftikhar alg says:

    Islam as a religion is quite alright to me. but Islam as a way of life is difficult to follow,No way of life can be followed(or imitated) with out under going any change, say after a thousand years. Islamic way of life is out dated and primitive,and must be modified and updated to make it relevant.

    Like

  18. Asif Ali says:

    Alam, so it does mean that you haven’t gone to take a “dump” in years and you hate to eat three times a day and haven’t had a chance (willingly) to sleep as you hate the “everyday” business – Come On Man, have some sense…

    Like

  19. Pavel Bure Jersey says:

    Wow, that looks so beneficial!Maybe you fool changed your keynote not too covet ago? Largely because I could take sworn it was not the having said that the one-time patch I was here…unless I am theory of a several web site.

    Like

  20. Arron Stiltz says:

    What’s up, I can appreciate typically the autor using the web site. Virtually all is evident and furthermore valuable. The picture is also beautiful in my circumstances. Might you don’t hesitate to phon us exactly what is the web might you make full use of? regards after and then proceed the nice give good results.

    Like

  21. traffic grab bonus says:

    SEO related niche are getting popular today and everybodies are racing to have their share in the pie, that is why your post are flooding with unrelevant comments too, well anyways, I came accros to this site that teaches techniques in the business, you can check out this Click Here I hope you have a nice day!

    Like

  22. force factor reviews says:

    In addition far like the gentleman thing… What i’m saying is, you are not the things you write. Clearly, generally if i were measured by that same ruler, Rankings do not be permitted to call myself women and god damn it, I’m a motherfucking lady!

    Like

  23. kortingscode says:

    I have been meaning to read this and just never obtained a chance. Its an issue that Im really interested in, I just started reading and Im glad I did. Youre a fantastic blogger, one of the best that Ive seen. This weblog undoubtedly has some facts on topic that I just wasnt aware of. Thanks for bringing this stuff to light.

    Like

  24. bankrupty says:

    Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thank you Nevertheless I’m experiencing subject with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting an identical rss drawback? Anybody who is aware of kindly respond. Thnkx

    Like

  25. laying paving slabs says:

    I’m just commenting to make you understand of the exceptional encounter our girl enjoyed using your webblog. She even learned some pieces, including what it’s like to have an ideal helping style to get the others very easily know just exactly various impossible topics. You really surpassed readers’ desires. Many thanks for presenting those important, healthy, informative and also easy tips on this topic to Ethel.

    Like

  26. cpanel hosting says:

    I feel that is an interesting element, it made me assume a bit. Thank you for sparking my pondering cap. Every so often I am getting such a lot in a rut that I just really feel like a record.

    Like

  27. Plantronics Voyager PRO Bluetooth Headset says:

    I simply wished to thank you so much once more. I’m not certain what I could possibly have achieved without the type of strategies contributed by you relating to such theme. Entirely was an absolute alarming dilemma in my circumstances, but seeing the very specialized mode you dealt with that forced me to weep over gladness. I’m happier for this work and then hope you really know what a great job you’re putting in teaching other individuals via a blog. I am sure you’ve never met any of us.

    Like

  28. Masaż Lublin says:

    I must point out my passion for your kindness supporting people that must have assistance with in this subject. Your special dedication to getting the message all through ended up being extremely advantageous and has continuously permitted somebody just like me to get to their endeavors. Your entire invaluable hints and tips denotes much to me and a whole lot more to my fellow workers. Thanks a lot; from all of us.

    Like

  29. opticians in renfrewshire says:

    The very crux of your writing while sounding agreeable initially, did not settle very well with me after some time. Somewhere within the sentences you actually were able to make me a believer but just for a very short while. I still have got a problem with your leaps in assumptions and you would do well to fill in those gaps. In the event you can accomplish that, I would undoubtedly be fascinated.

    Like

  30. Rizwan Elahi says:

    Islam comes to humans 2 ways. One by obeying Quran and hadees or by making mistakes. Living in USA for 25 years. West is making mistakes and learning from it. What they learn is what Quran tells us at the first place.
    Now we the Muslims do not obey Quran and Hadees and we are not allowed to make mistakes. End result is Jahiliat (ignorance).

    Like

  31. pickup women says:

    I’m still learning from you, however I’m bettering myself. I certainly love reading every thing that’s written in your blog.Maintain the stories coming. I loved it!

    Like

  32. click here says:

    Very effectively written information. It will be precious to anybody who usess it, together with myself. Sustain the good work – for positive i will check out extra posts.

    Like

  33. surrogate parenting says:

    Recently found your website while browsing on yahoo for some information.This is my first visit. I found so many entertaining posts on your blog. From the tons of comments on your posts, looks like you have a real interested crowd visiting regularly! Kudos!

    Like

  34. Tamisha Marinaccio says:

    I precisely wished to appreciate you once again. I’m not certain what I would have gone through in the absence of those opinions documented by you concerning that area. It has been a traumatic concern in my circumstances, nevertheless taking note of the skilled avenue you resolved the issue forced me to leap for fulfillment. I am just thankful for the service and then pray you really know what a great job that you are accomplishing educating people via a web site. I’m certain you’ve never come across any of us.

    Like

  35. easy cooking says:

    Yesterday found your website while browsing on bing for some information.Thanks for posting this useful and informative information. Just what I was looking for. I’ll be back for more advice.

    Like

  36. HTC Thunderbolt Accessories says:

    I would like to thnkx for the efforts you’ve put in writing this web site. I’m hoping the same high-grade blog post from you in the upcoming also. In fact your creative writing skills has inspired me to get my own website now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a good example of it.

    Like

  37. Cell Phone Accessories says:

    hello there and thank you for your information – I have definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise several technical issues using this website, since I experienced to reload the site lots of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage your quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my email and can look out for much more of your respective fascinating content. Ensure that you update this again very soon..

    Like

  38. led grow light ufo says:

    The different types of these lights include High Pressure Sodium (HPS) Lamps, , LED Grow Lights and Metal Halide Lamps. While alot or all of them have been popular at one point of time and are still utilizedin this point of time to some extent, LED Grow Lights are the highly chosen light sources since the point in time they were invented.

    Like

  39. Maqui Berry says:

    *An fascinating dialogue is price comment. I believe that you should write more on this matter, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people are not sufficient to talk on such topics. To the next. Cheers

    Like

  40. corded headsets says:

    I want to express some thanks to you just for rescuing me from this type of difficulty. After searching through the world wide web and coming across advice that were not beneficial, I thought my entire life was over. Being alive without the solutions to the problems you have resolved by way of this blog post is a crucial case, as well as those which may have badly affected my career if I had not noticed your blog post. Your personal skills and kindness in dealing with almost everything was very useful. I’m not sure what I would’ve done if I hadn’t encountered such a point like this. I can at this point relish my future. Thanks a lot very much for this high quality and results-oriented help. I will not think twice to suggest your web page to anybody who needs and wants tips on this topic.

    Like

  41. Force Factor says:

    As for ones own weight-loss desired goals, you might want to as well enhance your level and try full-body workouts… or perhaps do a bit of cardio sometimes on a fitness treadmill or simply working out of doors. Also, don’t have accomplishing exactly the same schedule. Change it out away continually! If you happen to hold working on the same habit, your physique will adjust to it and convey exactly the same outcomes. You will want a completely new physical program each muscle group every couple of weeks. For those who mistake muscle tissue consistently, they will be instructed to improve always! 🙂

    Like

  42. Pandaranol says:

    This is how good Kung Fu Panda is: . The first time I saw it was a few months ago with a group of friends. Ten minutes before we started the movie I got a text saying “I want you to know I like you as a friend, but I’m not ready to be in a relationship right now. I hope you understand.” . 90 minutes later, when it was over, I considered it a good night.

    Like

  43. prepaid phone cards says:

    Today found your site while browsing on aol for some information.I love what you have done here. You seem to have developed quite a community here. Shows what a bit of useful info without the frills is what most people are looking for.

    Like

  44. dedicated server hosting says:

    After study a couple of of the blog posts on your website now, and I actually like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website record and will probably be checking back soon. Pls check out my web page as properly and let me know what you think.

    Like

  45. bar stools says:

    Recently found your site while browsing on aol for some information.Thanks for this informative post. Been googling and browsing other similar posts to find the best answer. Thanks

    Like

  46. garmin approachg 5x says:

    Yesterday found your site while browsing on bing for some information.Thought this was a really good post, delighted I came across it. Will have to spend some time reading your other posts and comments.

    Like

  47. DeLonghi Coffee Machines says:

    Today found your blog while browsing on google for some information.I love what you have done here. You seem to have developed quite a community here. Shows what a bit of useful info without the frills is what most people are looking for.

    Like

  48. hotels in haringey says:

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme? Excellent work!

    Like

  49. Lose 10 Pounds says:

    I simply wanted to thank you once more for the amazing web page you have produced here. It really is full of ideas for those who are definitely interested in that subject, particularly this very post. You’re really all actually sweet along with thoughtful of others as well as reading your site posts is a great delight in my experience. And thats a generous surprise! Jeff and I will certainly have excitement making use of your points in what we need to do in a few weeks. Our record is a distance long and simply put tips are going to be put to fine use.

    Like

  50. cheap london hotels says:

    Recently found your website while browsing on aol for some information.Hey.. I’m not much into reading, but ended up reading lots of articles on your blog. Very interesting posts and comments, and very useful.

    Like

  51. xrumer links says:

    Greatest xrumer seo service – build Very best search positions as well as substantial site visitors using our effective back-links services. Most powerful & affordable one way links services of all time! XrumerGod.com – research engine – oneway links – search engine optimization – search engine marketing tips – social network sites

    Like

  52. Brand says:

    Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the information you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, superb site!

    Like

  53. Your Father says:

    Title THE ISLAM THAT IS PRACTICED was suitable enough but the content doesn’t seems to be surrounded on Practice… It was quite hitting the Islam and Muslims directly. you know what.. you need to get out of your shall and see the world with HUMAN EYE not that ANTI MUSLIM EYE. then you will came to know that in Pakistan and India its not ONLY MUSLIMS who doesn’t keep things clean. Its Hindus, Sikhs and many others too. its not the problem of ISLAM its problem of People.. if you have any problem with Islam, I respectfully suggest you to get the hell out of Pakistan and live in any country where you will be using tissues in toilet and so you will not be having that wet toilet trouble in your life 🙂 This is not Pakistan, Its Islamic Republic of Pakistan. Not Liberal whores like you. and mind it idiot “we have a tradition of keeping minorities especially Christians on certain jobs” Please break this tradition and try to Hire those Christians in your Office where you need any graduate or masters even an Intermediate person.why don’t you start it with your home? just because they are illiterate? So sad.. you are so Unfair to Christians.. No? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

