The Unbearable Lightness of Being Zardari!

Posting this to remind Pakistanis, what was being written about President Zardari (the then inmate of a jail) in 2005. Written by  a veteran journalist, a columnist par excellence, an inspiring rights / peace activist and a professional with unblemished credentials, Beena Sarwar, this post appeared on January 26, 2005 in The News, a paper of the same Jang Group currently at a well declared war with one person they seem to hate endlessly – Asif Ali Zardari.

It would be interesting for the readers to think and recall history of this media group, and how it has changed sides with every changing regime. May be then we’re in better position to peep through their headlines and “breaking news”, into the reality!

“Corruption,” pronounces Asif Ali Zardari, “is a state of mind. A corrupt person wouldn’t have taken on the establishment, wouldn’t have sacrificed eight years of his life in prison. I could have accepted a deal and got out, and kept them happy — that’s what would have benefited me most.”


No, no, no, there’s been no deal, he repeats. But he is confident that the government will have to call for early elections, and that BB (whom he refers to as his ’leader’) will be back, “INSHALLAH!” We’re at Bilawal House — or Bilawal Fortress, as some call it — in
Karachi (the one in Lahore is a rented premise), a few days before his departure to Dubai. There is an air of expectancy about the place, which is buzzing with men, outside the gates, in the courtyards, under a shamiana, in the living room next to the book-lined study where we meet him.

Wondering if it’s always like this, one learns that yes, it was like this even when he was in prison — having an easy time of it, one heard, air-conditioned rooms, all kinds of visitors, nudge, nudge, wink, wink… And yet, it could not have been that easy. Even if he was given preferential treatment, he was still a prisoner, deprived of home and family. And yes, there were some pretty rough moments, including solitary confinement, denial bail, and worse (remember the tongue incident?). Any luxuries would have been countered by such moments — and rides in the back of rickety police vans charging along from Karachi to Lahore for court hearings. A reporter later mentions that he developed spondalitis because of this mode of transport — he could either sit on the hard wooden bench, or stand all the way. This is why he has to walk with a cane and undergo physiotherapy.

He comes into the room briskly, despite the cane. We’re expecting an informal meeting, but the seating arrangement — he sits behind the large wooden desk facing the four of us — implies an interview. During the ensuing discussion one thing becomes clear: Zardari isn’t going to complain about his prison stint or political and personal adversities. Instead, he repeats what appears to be his mantra: positive thinking (reflected in that wide, somewhat cheeky grin, flashed along with a V-sign in every newspaper photograph or television shot taken during his prison days) — “Convert weaknesses and adversity into strength.”

“There is an unrepresentative, undemocratic government, and the West will eventually have to stand with the democratic forces. That process has started. Musharraf can’t step out of the umbrella of democracy. PPP is not in a rush to get into governance, and we believe that a martial thought process is not the answer — the strength it provides is temporary. We can’t wish away those who believe in a militant approach, but the real strength comes from the people, and we have to educate them against the prevalent defeatist attitude, we must be positive, we must assert our thought process. Civil liberties are never given voluntarily; we have to demand them. And we must each do what we can. I am doing what I can; I have chosen politics. I didn’t need to.”

This was a ’considered decision’. The only regret is not being able to see his children grow up — the eldest, Bilawal, was just eight when Zardari was imprisoned by the Nawaz Sharif government. But this is not a complaint. “I did it for the sake of democracy, for the people, for all our children. I could have taken the easy way out, but I didn’t. I knew that one day I would win. I didn’t know how long it would take. I am fighting and I will continue to fight.”

He dismisses the allegations of corruption. “They haven’t proved one case against me. You know how it started? It was Gen. Mujibur Rehman’s brainchild (information minister during Gen. Zia’s martial law), to use the old trick: give the dog a bad name and hang him. So they created this image of me, as an Achilles heel of PPP. I couldn’t counter it because I didn’t have a political image. I did have a personal political history, my family has always been in politics that people chose to ignore, but prison was a new experience for me.”

And then, some unexpected philosophy — “History will redeem me. What am I? I am just a bleep in the universal picture. So I might as well try and shine.”

There were times when no one would come to see him, but he never lost faith. “Nawaz Sharif left. My graph went up. The only people I’d see would be the court reporters, and the people who were looking after me — I learnt a lot from interacting with these downtrodden people. So I wasn’t entirely isolated. I’ve spent these eight years thinking, dreaming about how we can change Pakistan’s destiny for the better.”

The answer, he believes, is utilising what is considered Pakistan’s weakness — its burgeoning population — and converting this into strength. “We must invest in manpower, instead of ’toys for boys’. Invest a billion dollars in our people instead of planes.”

Then he makes a startling revelation: “We are working to export nurses; I believe that women are twice as hardworking as men. We will monitor everything with modern technology. The emancipation of women is the future of Pakistan. If we give land to anyone, we will ensure it is given only to women. The trouble is that we train our sons but not our girls.” His own children are treated equally, he says. Bilawal and Bakhtawar are both karate black belts, and if Bilawal is learning to shoot, so does his younger sister.

What about Benazir Bhutto, will they (the establishment) let her return? “They? Who are they to stop her? She has chosen to stay away because the world has gone mad. She is working nine hours a day, to change world opinion about us, about Pakistan.”

He disagrees that she is arrogant and unapproachable. “A person with an arrogant mindset wouldn’t work so hard. Look, people here are hypersensitive. She has a thousand things on her mind. But you know how people are — they’ll want to ask something, but the preamble is so long. So sometimes she may be a bit short, and that could be seen as arrogance.”

What about the contention that the Peoples Party should have sat in Opposition in 1988, instead of coming into power with their hands tied? “The circumstances then were such that that seemed the only choice,” he answers. “Perhaps it was not, but we are saying that with hindsight.”

So if there were fresh elections and a similar situation developed, would his party accept power with similar compromises? Zardari refuses to say. “She’s the leader. Her wisdom is more than mine. Whatever decision she makes will be correct and we will abide by it.”

But speaking for himself, what he would like to be if in power again, is environment minister. “That’s my passion. I can’t believe that the people responsible for that oil spill near Clifton beach are still around, that the environmentalists have not picketed KPT and so on. There is so much apathy. I’d like to change that.”

But he has full faith in the people. “We are portrayed as a lawless society, but it’s not true. The average person is hardworking and honest and law abiding. Who are the people who indulge in crime? Who supports them?” He answers his own question: “From political parties like the MQM, from the jagirdars and the sardars, all crime stems from these roots!”

His minders finally prevail upon him to leave for his next appointment, and as he exits the room, that wide grin reminds one of the Cheshire Cat in Alice in Wonderland, who every now and then would slowly vanish, its grin being the last thing to fade out. Asif Ali Zardari’s grin lingers on too. And you wonder who will have the last laugh…

59 thoughts on “The Unbearable Lightness of Being Zardari!

  1. free live sex cams says:

    Thanks so much for thiscomment! I have not been this thrilled by a comment for a long period of time! You have got it, whatever that means in blogging. Anyway, Youre certainly someone that has something to say that people should hear. Keep up the great work. Keep on inspiring the people!

    Like

  2. burak.name.tr says:

    This is the right blog for anyone who wants to find out about this topic. You realize so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Great stuff, just great!

    Like

  3. Cityville Cheat says:

    I believe this is one of the so much important information for me. And i am happy studying your article. But want to statement on some common things, The web site style is perfect, the articles is truly excellent : D. Good task, cheers

    Like

  4. dofollow blog commenting says:

    The new Zune browser is surprisingly good, but not as good as the iPod’s. It works well, but isn’t as fast as Safari, and has a clunkier interface. If you occasionally plan on using the web browser that’s not an issue, but if you’re planning to browse the web alot from your PMP then the iPod’s larger screen and better browser may be important.

    Like

  5. kidneys problems says:

    I haven’t checked in here for a while as I thought it was getting boring, but the last handful of posts are really great quality so I guess I will add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend. 🙂

    Like

  6. how to build a boat says:

    First of all, I would like to thank you for the stellar and informative entry. I have to admit that, I have never heard about this information. I have noticed many new facts for reasoning. Thanks a lot for sharing this useful and attractive information. I will be waiting for other interesting posts from you in the nearest future.

    Like

  7. Website Design Walton-on-thames says:

    I’m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. Your idea is outstanding; the issue is something that not enough people are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.*Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thank you However I am experiencing issue with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting identical rss problem? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

    Like

  8. Proactol Where To Buy says:

    With so many weight loss options out there, it’s
    arduous to know which of them to trust. Proactol Plus makes it
    simple to decide .as a result of it is clinically
    confirmed to work.

    Very few weight reduction products have anyplace
    close to the proof that Proactol Plus has.

    6 pre-clinical and clinical research show beyond
    question that it works and due to this it has develop into the
    primary alternative for these trying to lose weight
    fast and effectively.
    [url=http://proactol-where-to-buy.blogspot.com/p/proactol-plus-buy.html]Proactol Reviews[/url]

    Like

  9. Vance Miyose says:

    Good morning, I have to thanks a new autor using the web presence. Almost all is evident and then handy. The theory can typically be remarkable for me personally. Would you if possible phon my home what is the web template can you choose? say thanks again in addition to manage the actual truly amazing efforts.

    Like

  10. kortingscode says:

    I’m impressed, I must say. Very rarely do I come across a blog that’s both informative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. Your blog is important, the issue is something that not enough people are talking intelligently about

    Like

  11. how to lay brick pavers says:

    I simply wanted to write a simple comment so as to say thanks to you for these remarkable suggestions you are giving on this site. My prolonged internet research has finally been paid with reputable knowledge to exchange with my guests. I ‘d declare that we visitors actually are very endowed to live in a decent website with so many lovely individuals with insightful advice. I feel very grateful to have encountered your website and look forward to some more cool moments reading here. Thanks a lot again for a lot of things.

    Like

  12. hosting says:

    Good points?I’d note that as somebody who truly doesn’t write on blogs much (in reality, this may be my first submit), I don’t think the term ‘lurker’ is very changing into to a non-posting reader. It’s no longer your fault in the least , however in all probability the blogosphere may just get a hold of a greater, non-creepy title for the 90% folks that enjoy studying the content .

    Like

  13. forex signals says:

    I absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for. Would you offer guest writers to write content for you personally? I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write in relation to here. Again, awesome website!

    Like

  14. opticians england says:

    A large percentage of of what you state happens to be astonishingly appropriate and it makes me ponder why I had not looked at this with this light previously. This article truly did turn the light on for me personally as far as this specific issue goes. But at this time there is 1 position I am not too cozy with so whilst I try to reconcile that with the core idea of the position, allow me observe just what all the rest of the subscribers have to point out.Very well done.

    Like

  15. Berna Kerner says:

    I want to express my appreciation for your generosity supporting individuals who really want assistance with the study. Your real commitment to passing the message all-around had become especially useful and has all the time helped regular people much like me to achieve their aims. The insightful useful information denotes so much to me and especially to my colleagues. Thank you; from all of us.

    Like

  16. click here says:

    I’m still learning from you, but I’m bettering myself. I actually love studying every thing that’s written in your blog.Preserve the tales coming. I loved it!

    Like

  17. click here says:

    Highly rated post. I be taught one thing completely new on different blogs everyday. Deciding on one . stimulating to learn the paper content material from other writers and be taught slightly one thing from their website. I’d like to apply sure of this content on my blog you’re mind. Natually I’ll give a hyperlink here we’re at your internet-site. Appreciate your sharing.

    Like

  18. Jeffery Arnaud says:

    I recently came across your article and have been reading along. I want to express my admiration of your writing skill and ability to make readers read from the beginning to the end. I would like to read newer posts and to share my thoughts with you.

    Like

  19. HTC Thunderbolt Accessories says:

    hey there and thank you for your info – I have certainly picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise several technical points using this website, since I experienced to reload the web site a lot of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my email and could look out for much more of your respective intriguing content. Make sure you update this again very soon..

    Like

  20. Cell Phone Accessories says:

    It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you few interesting things or suggestions. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read more things about it!

    Like

  21. best led grow light says:

    The different types of these lamps include High Pressure Sodium (HPS) Lamps, Incandescent Grow Lights, LED Grow Lights and Metal Halide Lamps. While many or all of them have been popular at one point of time and are still used today to some extent, LED Grow Lighting are the highly preferred lamps since the day they were introduced.

    Like

  22. LG Revolution Accessories says:

    Thanks so much for providing individuals with a very breathtaking possiblity to read critical reviews from here. It is usually very terrific plus packed with a great time for me personally and my office acquaintances to visit your site at a minimum three times in 7 days to see the new guidance you will have. And lastly, I’m just actually amazed with all the surprising opinions you give. Some 1 points in this post are without a doubt the most impressive we’ve had.

    Like

  23. Lose 10 Pounds says:

    My brother recommended I would possibly like this blog. He was once entirely right. This put up truly made my day. You can not consider simply how so much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

    Like

  24. Force Factor says:

    When i looked at Matt’s weblog and even begun skimming the idea and i couldn’t please read on it again since the device was initially building me personally too gloomy to bear in mind the fact I’ve managed to graduate! Your blog post might be more thrilling and also joyful!

    Like

  25. neofegioneeli says:

    Anyone and everyone should own at least individual LED flashlight. More than in unison, even. You unequivocally beggary story in every household in case of a blackout. How would you be navigating your manner enveloping the power whomp or equable short of the concern to discover broken if it’s reasonable your house facing this promulgation or if your neighbors are in the fix too? I from a confederate who upright keeps one LED flashlight per room in the house. That includes the bedrooms, living flat, kitchen, storeroom, and stable the bathrooms! I believe she has perhaps 10 of such an LED flashlight. Another conspicuous pour down the drain suit of an LED flashlight is while you’re traveling. You should eternally transport an LED flashlight with you in container your tourist house or wherever you are encounters a blackout. As well, shining the magnificent LED flashlight inclination be able to take in people’s concentration to give up to your release, wherever you are (unless you’re under freely, at which your LED flashlight probably won’t be functioning).

    So why an LED flashlight and not inseparable of those ordinary torchlights? Fount, just now like how the traffic lights these days don’t date back to renege on faulty as much as in the past, so purposefulness the lifespan of your LED flashlight. It is known to mould you manner longer than the flashlights of the past.

    I bought the [url=http://www.dealtoworld.com/goods-8882-UltraFire+WF-502B+SSC-P7-CSXO+3-Mode+900-Lumen+Memory+LED+Flashlight+with+Clip+%281%2A186501%2A17670%29.html]UltraFire WF-502B SSC-P7-CSXO 3-Mode 900-Lumen Memory LED Flashlight with Clip (1*18650/1*17670) from the Ultrafire Lights division[/url] on DealtoWorld.com, where I regularly do some online shopping. DealtoWorld.com carries assorted gadgets and tools that make everyday resilience much easier. It solid beats affluent all over the marts and just discovering things at fortuitous and buying them nearly on impulse. At least while I’m doing online shopping at DealtoWorld.com, I can pronto research on the offering and the function of it, and equalize pore over reviews of it in the forefront I go that purchase decision. It sure makes me determine like I’m shopping crumble smarter than once! Uninterrupted my husband is happy after me that I don’t straight rat on for clothes, but recognize how to get such advantageous tools off the internet! It’s technique more handy, and you don’t should prefer to to be super savvy to know how to do it. After buying this LED flashlight, I even bought some birthday gifts an eye to friends. The gifts are mostly efficient things that they can use, and I also bought another LED flashlight an eye to my shelter who suppress uses candles during a power outage.

    The LED flashlight I bought from [url=http://www.dealtoworld.com/]DealtoWorld.com[/url] allows me to on from three modes. There’s expensive, frail, and strobe. High is for when I need wealth of taper, like during a blackout, for the treatment of instance. Switching it to squat enables me to secure batteries or when I don’t need too much light, like when I lack to go through the gas meter, on instance. Strobe is conducive to when I constraint some rescuer’s heed or to disorient an intruder or barbaric animal.

    Right-minded pattern month I was stuck in a jammed elevator and pal was I glad to beget my trusty LED flashlight with me so I didn’t sense so scared. As you can envisage from the pictures, the LED flashlight produces a to a certain extent strong light, to sunrise up the field when you most for it.

    Like

  26. garmin 305 says:

    To find that thing in your life you may need backup and the capacity to sustain yourself has many advantages. Keep in mind that if you can come up with someone else in order to really encourage, backup and keep you motivated to keep proceeding then that would be worthwhile.

    Like

  27. Blaine Edberg says:

    I’ve observed in the world today, video games will be the latest phenomenon with kids of all ages. There are occassions when it may be impossible to drag your kids away from the video games. If you want the very best of both worlds, there are plenty of educational games for kids. Good post.

    Like

  28. Lemon diet says:

    Fantastic article here The Unbearable Lightness of Being Zardari! | http://127.0.0.1/marvi, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely wonderful. I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it sensible. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is actually a tremendous site.

    Like

  29. garmin approachg 5x says:

    Just Now found your blog while browsing on yahoo for some information.Thank you for the great blog. You obviously are quite an authority on the subject, and you write with clarity. Learned a lot from your posts.

    Like

  30. xrumer links says:

    Finest xrumer links services – obtain Very best rankings and amazing site traffic using our powerful backlink building packages. Best & valuable one-way links service ever! XrumerGod.com – look for engine optimization – back links – marketing on the internet – search engine marketing – social networking

    Like

  31. hosting says:

    Odd this post is totaly unrelated to what I was looking google for, nevertheless it was listed on the first page. I assume your doing something proper if Google likes you sufficient to place you on the first web page of a non related search.

    Like

  32. Lose 10 Pounds says:

    I just like the helpful info you supply to your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and test once more here frequently. I am quite certain I’ll learn lots of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

    Like

  33. Travis Tallis says:

    My wife and i have been really joyful John managed to conclude his investigations from your ideas he was given from your very own web page. It’s not at all simplistic to simply find yourself offering solutions which a number of people might have been selling. We see we now have the website owner to thank for that. Those explanations you made, the straightforward blog navigation, the friendships you make it easier to engender – it’s got all terrific, and it’s really letting our son and the family reckon that the issue is entertaining, and that is exceptionally indispensable. Thanks for everything!

    Like

Leave a Reply

