Eleven Years Ago in the Courts

In Court With Nawaz Sharif

This account was published in Time Asia on November 22, 1999. Posted on Baaghi for the sake of revisiting immediate history that seems to somehow dissolve in the air and put the people in amnesia so often. Read, think and decide!


By GHULAM HASNAIN Karachi

Muhammed Nawaz Sharif was clearly disoriented and depressed as he stepped into the courtroom on Friday afternoon. For a moment, he seemed on the verge of breaking down in tears — his eyes were moist. "Where should I sit?" he asked one of his lawyers. He was shown a chair in the back.

When the formal proceedings began, Judge Rehman Husain Jafri asked Sharif if he had been tortured by the police. Sharif replied: "I was in solitary confinement for the last 38 days. In these days I never encountered any policemen." However, he said he had been interrogated by officials from other government agencies.

Jafri: The scope [of this trial] is quite limited. Police say you were arrested at 12:05 a.m. on Nov. 19.

Sharif: No, I was in solitary confinement for the last 38 days.

Jafri: That is a different subject. You can tell this when the actual trial will begin. This is not linked.

Sharif: Sir, I think it is linked.

Jafri: Were you tortured in custody?

Sharif: They did not beat me. But there are other things. If asked, I will tell you. Except torture they did everything.

Jafri: Do you know the charges?

Sharif: I have no idea what the charges are.

The judge read the charges–of treason, hijacking a commercial airliner and endangering the lives of 200 passengers.

Sharif: This is the first time I am hearing this.

After this exchange, the judge heard from lawyers for the defense and the prosecution. During this period, I managed to ask Sharif a few questions. Seeing me take notes, security in the courtroom signaled me to get out, but they didn't approach me for fear of interrupting the trial.

TIME: Did you order the hijacking?
Sharif: You hijack a plane with a gun. It is the democratically elected government which has been hijacked. It is the democracy which has been hijacked. Parliament has been hijacked. It is the 140 million people who have been hijacked. Who says plane was hijacked? There was no hijacking.

TIME: So what happened on Oct. 12? Did you sack army chief Pervez Musharraf?
Sharif: The coming moments will unfold everything. You will know soon what actually happened on that day. The thing which has to be found out is whether it was the coup which came first or the orders to the aircraft.

TIME: Do you expect justice and a fair trial?
Sharif: It will soon be clear. Everything will be in front of you.

TIME: Do you fear the military regime will hang you, as they did in the case of Zulfikar Bhutto?
Sharif: Let's see. I have left everything in the hands of God.

TIME: Where have you been since the coup?
Sharif: They kept shifting me to different places. I was kept in small rooms. Dingy rooms. I can't explain it to you in words. Seeing is believing. There was no mineral water. Each time I had to request them to fetch me mineral water. The supply of running water in the room was erratic. I was kept away from TV and newspapers. I had telephonic conversation with my family only twice. I don't know what is happening to them. I was totally in the dark.

TIME: What was the attitude of your captors toward you?
Sharif: It varied place to place. Each time you face different people. And they treat you in a different manner.

TIME: How long do you think this will continue?
Sharif: Let's see.

After hearing from lawyers on both sides, Judge Jafri handed Sharif over to police custody for interrogation till Nov. 22. He was taken away in an armored personnel carrier to an unknown destination. Sharif had been in court about 40 minutes.

Postscript: On Saturday, security officials didn't allow newsmen anywhere near the court–we were even barred from standing on the main road outside.


40 thoughts on “Eleven Years Ago in the Courts

  1. Keyboard Stands says:

    Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the net the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries that they just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

    Like

  2. Creative Agency London says:

    There are some interesting points in time in this article but I don’t know if I see all of them center to heart. There is some validity but I will take hold opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as well

    Like

  3. mortgage payment debt says:

    A powerful share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a little analysis on this. And he the truth is purchased me breakfast as a result of I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the deal with! However yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I really feel strongly about it and love studying extra on this topic. If doable, as you change into experience, would you mind updating your blog with more details? It’s highly useful for me. Big thumb up for this weblog put up!

    Like

  4. scree garden says:

    I enjoy you because of every one of your efforts on this website. My niece enjoys participating in investigations and it’s really obvious why. We all hear all of the dynamic manner you deliver sensible tricks by means of this web site and as well as increase response from visitors on that concern plus our favorite princess is in fact becoming educated a great deal. Enjoy the remaining portion of the new year. You’re the one carrying out a stunning job.

    Like

  5. lose weight hypnotherapy says:

    Does your website have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to send you an e-mail. I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

    Like

  6. golf swing trainers says:

    Hiya! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My blog looks weird when viewing from my iphone 4. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to correct this problem. If you have any recommendations, please share. Cheers!

    Like

  7. forex signal software says:

    Hello! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when browsing from my iphone. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to correct this issue. If you have any recommendations, please share. Thank you!

    Like

  8. opticians in armagh says:

    The root of your writing while appearing reasonable in the beginning, did not really settle very well with me after some time. Someplace throughout the sentences you were able to make me a believer but only for a very short while. I however have got a problem with your leaps in assumptions and one might do nicely to fill in those gaps. If you can accomplish that, I would surely be fascinated.

    Like

  9. las vegas deals says:

    Recently found your website while browsing on google for some information.Useful information shared with clarity. Thanks for the great tips and advice. Enjoyed particularly this post.

    Like

  10. picking up women says:

    Congratulations on possessing certainly considered one of one of the vital subtle blogs Ive arrive throughout in a while! Its just amazing how a lot you’ll be capable of consider away from a thing basically simply due to how visually gorgeous it is. You’ve place collectively an important weblog site area –nice graphics, movies, layout. This is definitely a must-see website!

    Like

  11. easy cooking says:

    Just Now found your blog while browsing on aol for some information.I agree with your opinion, so thanks for sharing the idea. Haven’t really seen this anywhere else. Good work.

    Like

  12. prepaid phone cards says:

    Recently found your website while browsing on google for some information.Thought this was a really good post, delighted I came across it. Will have to spend some time reading your other posts and comments.

    Like

  13. led grow light reviews says:

    The various kinds of these lamps include High Pressure Sodium (HPS) Lamps, , LED Grow Lights and Metal Halide Lamps. While alot or mostof them have been picked at one timeframe and are still utilizedtoday to some level, LED Grow Lights are the highly chosen light sources begining since the point in time they were introduced.

    Like

  14. best market solar says:

    Nice advice and really true. One of the vital essential issues bloggers, or any business, can do is strive not to supply up. Even if instances are powerful it’s vital to be there to your readers and customers outcome they are going to keep in mind you in a constructive light as soon issues get better and you can be rewarded to your efforts.

    Like

  15. LG Revolution Accessories says:

    hello there and thank you for your info – I have definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise several technical issues using this website, since I experienced to reload the site a lot of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and can damage your high quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my email and could look out for a lot more of your respective fascinating content. Ensure that you update this again very soon..

    Like

  16. bar stools says:

    Just Now found your website while browsing on bing for some information.I love what you have done here. You seem to have developed quite a community here. Shows what a bit of useful info without the frills is what most people are looking for.

    Like

  17. Muchacho says:

    Hi there, a very good read and it sometimes just takes someone to post something like this to make me realise where I’ve been going wrong! Just added the site to my bookmarks so will check back now and then. Cheers.

    Like

  18. xrumer blast says:

    The best xrumer linkbuilding services – create High rankings and also massive traffic using our amazing back-links deals. Most profitable & valuable back-links solution ever! XrumerGod.com – website placement – oneway links – online marketing – search engine optimization techniques – social media

    Like

  19. no win no fee claims says:

    Recently found your website while browsing on bing for some information.Love the website. Have you thought about RSS Feeds as a traffic source for your blog. They work for me, and bring me a nice bit of traffic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

