Lets Read History Anew

It took me quite some time and effort to come to terms with the fact that we’re, sadly, living in a society where mediocrity is promoted with an unprecedented rigor, where ordinariness becomes your asset and where intelligence and ability to question is regarded as your super disqualification.

My increasing criticism of the happenings and our collective thinking has become my trademark of “negativity” for people from seemingly all kinds of ages, backgrounds and classes. An out of proportion emphasis on “positivity” in recent times has become more than delusional in our society. One would find no soul who’s left there able to see the damage all of us are collectively doing to this country by choosing wrong ways of responding to national disasters.

This refusal to reason, inability to analyze things objectively and incapability to question and process raw information has made people of Pakistan succumb irrecoverably to rhetoric. We are now the people who offer most profitable package to exploiters for befooling us. We love to be fooled and to live in fools’ paradise. It’s easy and requires no effort. Someone asks us to be happy we do it. Someone else asks us to be enraged we do it. Isn’t it sweet?

It remained an enigma for me as to how we were able to develop ourselves in such an unimaginative, dim-witted, obtuse and thick skinned heap of people, till I happened to see a social studies text book for grade 5 couple of years back. Since then, studying the level of incompetence promoted by these state prescribed text books has become my favourite pass time. Not only that the kids are subjected to “torture” of having to read these mind-numbing monotonous piles of raw paper, but they are also pushed into oblivion never to surface again.

The trick has been done by either telling the selective truth or by out-rightly distorting it. Not that I don’t understand the dilemma of those who run Pakistan, but still we can do it with half more decency! Yes we do understand how can they tell young generation six decades later that they did an unforgivable blunder? But at least they can let people come to terms with it by asking honest questions.

I can vaguely recall those days when we were strictly prohibited to read history textbooks written by people like Dr Mubarak Ali and K. K. Aziz sahib. It was easier to encage information then. But we somehow managed to get hold on alternative history. Today, when it’s a million times easier to get hold of any information you like, students are strongly conditioned to neither reach out to readings other than prescribed, nor to trust sources other than state-engineered ones.

Whenever someone asserted the need to rationalize the historical narrative, one was invariably called an anti-state element that has to be gotten rid of. One matter of special fragility has been the presentation of facts related to or covering the movement that lead to the partition in 1947 and resultant birth of Pakistan.

Very interestingly, when I see the textbooks for grade five in India, I don’t see such a Pakistan (or Muslim-centric) hate propaganda. Despite the fact that we in Pakistan have got significant Hindu and Sikh population in pockets of Sindh, Punjab and Pakhtunhwah (the North Western Frontier Province as the colonial bosses called it to be followed by us to date), our text-books have left no stone unturned to present these religious groups as not only the enemies of Muslims, but also a sub-human creature who is in humane and too mean to be allowed to exist – yes, I know I’m harsh here.

The difference in conceiving the curriculum and packaging the information therein is way too conspicuous to ignore. A grade five student in India, according to the online curricula available on the website of National Council of Education and Research and Training (NCERT), studies Mathematics, English, Hindi and Environmental Studies. In the land of the pure, a student of the same level becomes a guinea pig of the state and undergoes the injections of Urdu, Islamiat, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies. In private schools, Arts & Crafts, English and computing is added to this. The non-Muslim students are given a choice of Ethics in Islamiat’s stead.

One wonders why such a young mind needs religious education? But such a question should not come out lest you may not be labeled as a lesser Muslim. World saw all hell breaking when there was contemplation on government’s part back in 2004, of removing Islamiat from primary education. It had to be re-introduced from grade three this time after a strong propaganda campaign was led by the media to fuel right wing consumer of curricula against the change.

There were many at that time who would ask what was harm in religious education, which should be a must. When, in response to the latter part of the question, one would argue WHY, the answer invariably was: Because Pakistan was created in the name of Islam! And this answer has been universal. So incessant has been the hammering of this lie that after sixty-two years, no one is able to even imagine challenging this assertion. Who has benefitted from this lie? Who was damaged by this? People of Pakistan and the society.

The wrong notion created since the beginning of country’s birth has won the establishment an unquestionable hegemony on power and resources. That the Muslims are one nation, and all non-Muslims are distinctly different from them, amply gives Muslims a reason to get a different homeland, came to play soon after the partition as one of the biggest challenges to keep diverse sub-nationalities within newly created state.

Differences in language, traditions, culture, social norms were too manifest to give neo-Pakistanis enough adherent to survive as a nation. Religion was the easiest way out. It was forcefully made one adhesive factor for keeping the nation together, which was undergoing labour pains ever since it came into existence. The ethnic differences erupted as soon as Urdu was declared national language of the country. The schism widened when federal government chose to impose governor rule in NWFP, disrupting popularly elected government of Dr. Khan sahib, just because he was from Congress. The Baluchistan’s independent states i.e., Qallat etc. too were not very happy with the way center was trying to consolidate itself at the cost of provinces’ independence. Although Khan of Qallat was convinced by Jinnah to sign instrument of succession, it still demanded a lot to appease the sentiment of exclusion.

In Sindh too, there were tensions between the local Vadera (feudal) politicians and migrated UP elite. Punjab’s Unionist party was also lured into coming in the lap of Pakistan Muslim League. An era of dirtiest politics started, which resulted into first military rule in Pakistan. No insight of politics in those times is available in any of the textbook in Pakistan. On the contrary, the history of Pakistan starts from Mughals (grade 6) and ends on August 14, 1947.

In my next post, I would be examining the way history is distorted and crammed up in young minds to make them belligerent against everybody who looks different in terms of religion.


64 thoughts on “Lets Read History Anew

  1. ??? says:

    The Zune concentrates on being a Portable Media Player. Not a web browser. Not a game machine. Maybe in the future it’ll do even better in those areas, but for now it’s a fantastic way to organize and listen to your music and videos, and is without peer in that regard. The iPod’s strengths are its web browsing and apps. If those sound more compelling, perhaps it is your best choice.

    Like

  2. Travel Deals says:

    Hi I love this article and it is so good and I am definetly going to save it. I Have to say the Indepth analysis this article has is trully remarkable.No one goes that extra mile these days? Well Done 🙂 Just another tip you caninstall a Translator for your Worldwide Readers !

    Like

  3. premium wordpress themes says:

    Needed to put you that very little note so as to say thank you as before considering the fantastic guidelines you have discussed here. This has been quite shockingly open-handed of people like you to grant freely exactly what a few people could have offered for sale as an e-book to help make some profit for their own end, notably given that you could possibly have done it in case you considered necessary. These solutions also served to become fantastic way to understand that other people online have the identical interest just as my very own to know the truth very much more with regard to this problem. I know there are many more enjoyable periods in the future for folks who start reading your site.

    Like

  4. Keyboard Stands says:

    Can I just say what a relief to find someone who actually knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I cant believe youre not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

    Like

  5. Leoma Rainford says:

    I will immediately grab your rss feed as I can not find your email subscription link or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Kindly let me know in order that I could subscribe. Thanks.

    Like

  6. garden sprinklers says:

    I in addition to my guys were actually reviewing the excellent guidelines located on the blog and immediately got a terrible feeling I never thanked the site owner for them. These boys were totally glad to see them and have clearly been taking advantage of those things. Thank you for really being quite accommodating and also for making a decision on variety of beneficial things most people are really desperate to be aware of. Our own sincere regret for not expressing gratitude to earlier.

    Like

  7. hosting says:

    Thank you for making the honest attempt to talk about this. I think very strong about it and wish to read more. If it’s OK, as you acquire extra in depth wisdom, would you mind including extra articles similar to this one with additional information? It could be extraordinarily helpful and helpful for me and my friends.

    Like

  8. forex trading signals says:

    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get three e-mails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Bless you!

    Like

  9. opticians dumfries galloway says:

    With every thing which seems to be developing inside this area, a significant percentage of points of view are very stimulating. However, I appologize, because I can not subscribe to your entire strategy, all be it exciting none the less. It would seem to me that your opinions are not totally justified and in reality you are generally yourself not completely convinced of your assertion. In any event I did appreciate reading it.

    Like

  10. pick up artist says:

    My companion and I really enjoyed studying this weblog submit, I was just itching to know do you trade featured posts? I’m at all times looking for somebody to make trades with and merely thought I’d ask.

    Like

  11. how to meet girls says:

    Many thanks for posting this, It’s just what I used to be researching for on bing. I’d so much comparatively hear opinions from a person, barely than a company web web page, that’s why I like blogs so significantly. Many thanks!

    Like

  12. easy cooking says:

    Yesterday found your site while browsing on aol for some information.This is my first visit. I found so many entertaining posts on your blog. From the tons of comments on your posts, looks like you have a real interested crowd visiting regularly! Kudos!

    Like

  13. HTC Thunderbolt Accessories says:

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is fantastic blog. An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

    Like

  14. Cell Phone Accessories says:

    I used to be more than happy to search out this net-site.I wanted to thanks to your time for this glorious learn!! I positively enjoying every little little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

    Like

  15. best led grow light says:

    The various types of these lamps include , , LED Grow Lights and . While many or mostof them have been chosen at one point and are still used in this point of time to some extent, LED Grow Lamps are the highly chosen light sources begining since the day they were invented.

    Like

  16. Power Leads Pro says:

    *The next time I learn a weblog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this one. I mean, I do know it was my option to learn, but I truly thought youd have one thing interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about one thing that you could possibly fix in the event you werent too busy looking for attention.

    Like

  17. Sumiko Putnam says:

    I was wondering if you ever considered changing the layout of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of blog so folks could connect with it better. Youve got an awful many text for only having one or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

    Like

  18. basement waterproofing southfield michigan says:

    I must show my appreciation for your kind-heartedness for all those that really need help on this concern. Your real commitment to getting the solution across appears to be pretty insightful and has continually encouraged many people like me to get to their objectives. Your personal invaluable guide can mean so much to me and especially to my office workers. Thank you; from all of us.

    Like

  19. Katina Furey says:

    Great work! This is the type of information that should be shared around the web. Shame on Google for not positioning this post higher! Come on over and visit my site . Thanks =)

    Like

  20. Mikki Bartolotta says:

    Considerably, the post is really the greatest on that worthy topic. I agree with your conclusions and also can eagerly look forward to your future updates. Simply saying thanks definitely will not just be enough, for the fantasti c clarity in your writing. I will certainly perfect away grab your rss feed to stay abreast of any updates. Genuine work and much success in your business dealings!

    Like

  21. xrumer seo says:

    Most effective xrumer linkbuilding service – achieve Leading rankings and significant website traffic using our impressive oneway links deals. Most profitable & cost-effective back links services of all time! XrumerGod.com – search engine marketing – oneway links – on the internet marketing – search engine optimization techniques – social media

    Like

  22. Tamie Nozicka says:

    I have been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts on this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this web site. Studying this info So i am happy to exhibit that I’ve a very good uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I most without a doubt will make certain to don’t forget this website and give it a look a continuing.

    Like

  23. car rental york says:

    Recently found your blog while browsing on aol for some information.Excellent post. Just emailed your link to a colleague who I think would also be interested in your excellent content.

    Like

  24. bar stools says:

    Just Now found your blog while browsing on google for some information.Excellent post. Just emailed your link to a colleague who I think would also be interested in your excellent content.

    Like

  25. garmin approachg 5x says:

    Today found your site while browsing on google for some information.Thank you for the great blog. You obviously are quite an authority on the subject, and you write with clarity. Learned a lot from your posts.

    Like

  26. san francisco lawyers says:

    Recently found your blog while browsing on bing for some information.I love what you have done here. You seem to have developed quite a community here. Shows what a bit of useful info without the frills is what most people are looking for.

    Like

  27. no win no fee accident claims says:

    Today found your blog while browsing on aol for some information.This is my first visit. I found so many entertaining posts on your blog. From the tons of comments on your posts, looks like you have a real interested crowd visiting regularly! Kudos!

    Like

  28. Lose 10 Pounds says:

    Someone essentially help to make seriously posts I’d state. That is the first time I frequented your website page and to this point? I surprised with the research you made to make this actual post extraordinary. Wonderful process!

    Like

  29. Lavette Barimah says:

    The very heart of your writing whilst sounding reasonable initially, did not really work very well with me personally after some time. Someplace within the sentences you actually managed to make me a believer but only for a short while. I nevertheless have got a problem with your leaps in logic and one would do nicely to help fill in all those gaps. When you actually can accomplish that, I could definitely end up being amazed.

    Like

  30. autism spectrum quotient says:

    Just a quick note to show appreciation for the many ideas that truly clear many of my own doubts on this field. For many days, I have already been visiting your site and i also have always been gaining new things, especially from this post. In fact, words could not express how much my partner and i thank you for the step-by-step guideline you provide here and so I no longer live in the world of ignorance as far as that topic is concerned. We are truly grateful for your expert ideas and also support.

    Like

Leave a Reply

