We have an Unbiased Media!

img00734-20090316-1310March 17, 2009
And the much awaited happened! Chief Justice Iftikhar M. Chaudhry was restored with effect from March 22, 2009. Citizens rejoiced, the media was excited and the political workers were dancing. After midnight when the breaking news flashed on the media about the possible resolution of the issue, and the announcement that the Prime Minister was going to address the nation shortly, everybody was waiting endlessly sticking to their TV sets. The speech came at around 9:30 pm the following morning. at 10:30 we saw the footage of dancing people in different parts of country. Despite having very strong reservations about the person of Justice Chaudhry, I had been sincerely wishing for this seemingly impossible to happen. It was basically because of the fact that people’s will and their power was being testified. This will and power had thrown an all-powerful dictator out of power. And now a popularly elected government was resisting people’s will. A contradiction in terms!
When we saw people dancing in the streets of Pakistan, I was overwhelmed. I wanted to dance as well. I wanted to be with rejoicing people. We picked up the keys and left for Aab Para, where reportedly hundreds of people had gathered and were dancing. We rushed to that place. On our way, we stopped at Melody, which is very close to Aab Para and was also reported to be a place of people’s rejoicing according to umpteen media channels. We took our pounding hearts to that place only to find it deserted. I was intrigued. I roamed around in the market, where around 90% of shops were still closed (it was around 11:30 a.m.). Tried to talk to the people, who looked absolutely disinterested. The khaakroon (sweeper), the paan waalah (beetle leaf selling person), the chhaabri waalah (kiosk man), the waiter of a food kiosk and the sales man sitting in a food corner . . . all were but ignorant to the idea that they should be actually celebrating! When asked whether someone was dancing here, they expressed their utter ignorance. Just a man in the street told that there was a shop keeper who was member of Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf, celebrated by distributing sweets.
Disappointed, we left for the Aab Para market. It was exciting to see the sight of marchers over there. I rushed to them, who were standing in two groups facing each other. One group was holding flags of PML-N and placards with pictures of Mian Nawaz Shareef. The pictures were interestingly displaying MNS in an attire that resembles the image of Asif Ali Zardari – clad in Ajrak and Sindhi topi (cap)! The other group was holding PTI’s flags.
The PML-N group got excited to see me, mistaking me as a journalist, and started shouting slogans of dekho dekho kaun aya, sher aya sher aya (Look who has come, the tiger, the tiger!), with tiger being PML-N’s electoral symbol and general symbol of bravery.
The total number of marchers belonging to both groups was not more than a hundred. when asked about the “dancing” all the channels were reporting about, they told me that they had just arrived there half an hour ago and don’t know about any dancing episode. When asked why they were not dancing, they said they wanted to but they couldn’t find dhol waalahs (the drum beaters).
Once again disappointed, I went on to ask some bystanders about it. I was told that at 10:00 a.m. there was dancing by some lawyers who were there, and that too at the demand of some media persons who wanted interesting footage to fill in air space!
I left from Aab Para and try to comb Islamabad’s other busy centers to find any “rejoicing”, just to find deserted roads!
Aahh . . . so much for “efficient reporting” by an efficient and unbiased media!
49 thoughts on “We have an Unbiased Media!

  1. Travel Offers says:

    Man I love your post and it is so fabulous and I am definetly going to save it. One thing to say the Indepth analysis this article has is greatly remarkable.No one goes that extra mile these days? Bravo. Just one more suggestion you caninstall a Translator Application for your Global Audience !!!

    Like

  2. radio manele online says:

    Took me time to read all the comments, but I really enjoyed the radio online article. It proved to be Very helpful to me and I am sure to all the commenters here! It’s always nice when you can not only be informed, but also entertained! I’m sure you had fun writing this article.

    Like

  3. ???? says:

    I have been trying to find this info. Just so you know I established your blog when I had looking for weblogs like my own,my blog someday and post me a ideas to let me know what you think.2

    Like

  4. laying setts says:

    My husband and i have been delighted that Louis managed to round up his web research through the ideas he acquired when using the web site. It’s not at all simplistic just to happen to be handing out secrets and techniques which usually many others may have been selling. Therefore we realize we need the writer to appreciate for this. All the explanations you’ve made, the easy website menu, the relationships you assist to engender – it is mostly excellent, and it’s leading our son and the family understand that topic is awesome, which is certainly exceptionally serious. Thanks for all!

    Like

  5. computer forensics jobs says:

    Recently found your website while browsing on google for some information.Impressed by the quality of information on this website. There are a lot of good info here. Bookmarked your site, so I am sure I will visit again soon.

    Like

  6. opticians tyrone says:

    Throughout the grand design of things you secure a B+ with regard to effort and hard work. Where exactly you actually misplaced me was in all the details. You know, they say, details make or break the argument.. And that couldn’t be much more accurate at this point. Having said that, permit me reveal to you what exactly did give good results. The article (parts of it) is certainly very persuasive and that is most likely the reason why I am making an effort to comment. I do not really make it a regular habit of doing that. Next, while I can certainly notice the jumps in logic you make, I am not really sure of how you seem to connect your details that produce your conclusion. For right now I will subscribe to your issue but trust in the near future you link the dots much better.

    Like

  7. picking up women says:

    Hi there clever points.. now why did not i consider these? Off subject slightly, is that this web page sample merely from an abnormal installation or else do you use a customized template. I exploit a webpage i’m seeking to enhance and effectively the visuals is likely one of the key issues to finish on my list.

    Like

  8. cooking says:

    Recently found your website while browsing on google for some information.I love what you have done here. You seem to have developed quite a community here. Shows what a bit of useful info without the frills is what most people are looking for.

    Like

  9. Katerine Mcclucas says:

    I recently came across your article and have been reading along. I want to express my admiration of your writing skill and ability to make readers read from the beginning to the end. I would like to read newer posts and to share my thoughts with you.

    Like

  10. led grow light reviews says:

    The various types of these lamps include High Pressure Sodium (HPS) Lamps, , LED Grow Lights and . While many or mostof them have been popular at one time and are continuoly utilizedin this point of time to some extent, LED Grow Lighting are the chosen lamps begining since the day they were invented.

    Like

  11. Marijuana Strains says:

    I wanted to visit and allow you to know how great I appreciated discovering your blog today. I’d consider it an honor to work at my company and be able to utilize tips discussed on your site and also get involved in visitors’ feedback like this. Should a position involving guest publisher become on offer at your end, remember to let me know.

    Like

  12. basement waterproofing Rochester michigan says:

    I wanted to thank you a lot more for that amazing website you have designed here. It’s full of useful tips for those who are definitely interested in this specific subject, in particular this very post. You really are all so sweet and thoughtful of others and reading your blog posts is a wonderful delight if you ask me. And such a generous treat! Ben and I are going to have fun making use of your guidelines in what we must do next week. Our listing is a mile long which means your tips is going to be put to excellent use.

    Like

  13. Sunni Mcshan says:

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this blog. I’m hoping the same high-grade blog post from you in the upcoming as well. Actually your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own site now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings quickly. Your write up is a good example of it.

    Like

  14. Ryane Clowe Third Jersey says:

    Someone I work with visits your blog really often and recommended it to me to understand too. The column craze is gigantic and the content is interesting. Thanks in the interest of the comprehension you lay down the readers!

    Like

  15. bar stools and table says:

    Just Now found your blog while browsing on yahoo for some information.Thought this was a really good post, delighted I came across it. Will have to spend some time reading your other posts and comments.

    Like

  16. no win no fee claims says:

    Yesterday found your website while browsing on yahoo for some information.Thanks for the nice blog. It’s been very useful for me. Keep sharing ideas like this and we’ll all profit from them. Glad I found your blog! Thanks for sharing the info with us.

    Like

  17. xrumer backlinks says:

    The best xrumer service – obtain Top serps as well as significant targeted traffic using our impressive one-way links deals. Most effective & affordable 1 way links services ever! XrumerGod.com – sem – link building – website advertising – search engine optimization techniques – social network sites

    Like

  18. top free mmorpg says:

    Howdy, i highly recommend you on earth do you say to me personally the reason why can you pick out that mainly because now i’m not likely joyful lead to i don’t discover where can you wat to arrive preaching about this particular?? aside type them there is a excellent weblog! Oh near overlook your current sitemap isn’t doing the job. Thank you Jonh.

    Like

  19. hair photographer says:

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I is going to be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write once more quite soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

