Sat Sri Akal!

This letter was published in Daily Times on Feb 27, 2010


Cartoon By Zahoor


Sir: The brutal beheading of Jaspal Singh in Khyber Agency was a grim reminder of how the minorities are being treated in this land of the ‘pure’. Jaspal Singh was among the three Sikhs kidnapped by unidentified militants for a hefty amount of ransom.

 

Over the last one and a half decades of my work in the social sector, I had the privilege of engaging myself in a rather candid discourse with marginalised communities, especially minorities and women. Sikhs being a small minority in Pakistan after Hindus and Christians largely go unnoticed as the marginalised ones. Many Pakistanis do not even know that we have large Sikh communities in the northern areas and FATA.

 

I met some Sikh IDPs at Gurdawaara Panja Sahib a few months ago and was shocked to learn that some of them had to shave off their beards and remove their headgear due to a fear of being marked as non-Muslims by the Taliban. I sometimes really wonder how we managed to lose Jinnah’s ‘secular’ Pakistan.

MARVI SIRMED
Islamabad

46 thoughts on “Sat Sri Akal!

  1. debt management plans says:

    After examine just a few of the blog posts in your website now, and I truly like your approach of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark web site listing and will likely be checking back soon. Pls try my website online as effectively and let me know what you think.

    Like

  2. hosting says:

    I think that may be an enchanting element, it made me assume a bit. Thanks for sparking my thinking cap. Infrequently I get such a lot in a rut that I just feel like a record.

    Like

  3. single digging says:

    I wanted to put you that little bit of remark to give many thanks again for these pleasing strategies you’ve contributed at this time. This has been quite open-handed of you to grant publicly what exactly a lot of people might have offered for an electronic book in order to make some bucks for themselves, even more so considering the fact that you might well have tried it if you desired. The ideas in addition served to become easy way to recognize that someone else have the same eagerness really like my very own to realize a whole lot more regarding this problem. I’m sure there are thousands of more fun periods up front for folks who view your site.

    Like

  4. stock picks says:

    Hello! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one? Thanks a lot!

    Like

  5. opticians in warwickshire says:

    Together with the whole thing that seems to be building within this specific subject matter, all your perspectives are generally fairly stimulating. Nonetheless, I am sorry, but I do not give credence to your entire idea, all be it exciting none the less. It seems to everyone that your comments are not completely justified and in simple fact you are yourself not even entirely certain of your assertion. In any event I did enjoy looking at it.

    Like

  6. pick up women says:

    You ought to really think about engaged on developing this weblog into a major authority on this market. You evidently have a grasp deal with of the matters everyone is searching for on this web site anyways and you would actually even earn a buck or two off of some advertisements. I’d explore following latest subjects and raising the amount of write ups you set up and I assure you’d begin seeing some amazing focused visitors within the near future. Only a thought, good luck in no matter you do!

    Like

  7. surrogacy says:

    Yesterday found your website while browsing on google for some information.Thanks for the nice blog. It’s been very useful for me. Keep sharing ideas like this and we’ll all profit from them. Glad I found your blog! Thanks for sharing the info with us.

    Like

  8. Tyson Keiswetter says:

    I recently came across your article and have been reading along. I want to express my admiration of your writing skill and ability to make readers read from the beginning to the end. I would like to read newer posts and to share my thoughts with you.

    Like

  9. led grow light review says:

    The various types of these lamps include High Pressure Sodium (HPS) Lamps, Incandescent Grow Lights, LED Grow Lights and Metal Halide Lamps. While many or mostof them have been chosen at one point of time and are continuoly utilizedin this point of time to some level, LED Grow Lamps are the highly chosen light sources begining since the day they were invented.

    Like

  10. car rental cardiff says:

    Just Now found your website while browsing on aol for some information.I love what you have done here. You seem to have developed quite a community here. Shows what a bit of useful info without the frills is what most people are looking for.

    Like

  11. car york york says:

    Recently found your website while browsing on google for some information.I agree with your opinion, so thanks for sharing the idea. Haven’t really seen this anywhere else. Good work.

    Like

  12. xrumer says:

    Highest quality xrumer linkbuilding services – acquire Leading search positions plus huge website traffic using our effective links packages. Profitable & valuable 1 way links service of all time! XrumerGod.com – seo positioning – back links – marketing on the internet – search engine marketing – social bookmarking

    Like

  13. garmin golf gps says:

    Today found your site while browsing on aol for some information.I love what you have done here. You seem to have developed quite a community here. Shows what a bit of useful info without the frills is what most people are looking for.

    Like

  14. no win no fee solicitors says:

    Recently found your website while browsing on bing for some information.Impressed by the quality of information on this website. There are a lot of good info here. Bookmarked your site, so I am sure I will visit again soon.

    Like

  15. san francisco lawyers says:

    Just Now found your blog while browsing on aol for some information.This is my first visit. I found so many entertaining posts on your blog. From the tons of comments on your posts, looks like you have a real interested crowd visiting regularly! Kudos!

    Like

  16. Lose 10 Pounds says:

    Excellent read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing some research on that. And he just bought me lunch since I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

    Like

  17. Tarun Gulati says:

    Sikhs always targeted by Muslim…In India Muslim are bound to do.that..Despite being an Big majority here in India of Muslims….They can’t take any action against Sikhs…If we talk about pak..Its the place where nobody is safe…from President..to a common man..

    Like

  18. Scorpion King says:

    Dear Marvi! I really feel like ashamed that due to some stupid people(Talibans) our respectable citizens although they are in minority but they are respectable citizen of Pakistan are living in a scared atmosphere and shave off their beards and remove their headgear just because talibans forced them to do this. These stupids also sports beard and planting turbines at their heads. What kind of this Islam is? This is not the actual Islam which these stupids trying to paint for rest of the world. This kind of people must be sentenced to jail more over hang till death. They must be sorry for this behavior towards our other respectable citizens although they are minority but they are respectable citizen. As you are social worker and respectable identity. You must do something at every possible forum. People like me are always with you.

    Like

  19. Haider says:

    I have some views to share with you about your self obviously which i have gathered after watching your talk shows and your profile on wikipedia …
    – First of all you dont know who to talk to elders or how to talk in talk shows I have found you really rude with kind of vulgar language
    – you just talk nonsense based on your own assumption which does not exist in practical life and top of that you claim that you are right
    – All politicians, pak army talibaan every single person take money from America when America stops giving money to them they become against of America …
    – You are living in Pakistan and you still havent understand what 2 nation theory is
    – you want to make pakistan a secular state inwhich homosexual kind of things should be allowed and plenty of examples like this
    – all of your followers are from India Because your doing their inside job
    – you never ever speaks any single word what america has done in iraq, afghanistan, pakistan, cuba, Vietnam etc etc
    – you dont talk about kashmir issue it means you are agree that kashmir is india’s part
    – you dont say any single words against killing of innocent muslims in indian gujrat, indian kashmir but you do care about baluchistan and you want to deny that fact that india is responsible for it
    – all of your education or knowledge is based on negative literature which is written by non state aligns …
    – all of your interviews on pakistani & Indian channels are against pakistan
    – you own plenty of NGOs but on Tv channels you dont declare them
    – you still havent showed your credibility in any mean …
    – your out looks are Pure indian …
    My request is that why dont you move to India and live your life with baal thakuray as you like him very much that is why you have photos with him

    Like

Leave a Reply

