What Can People Do For Peace?

ppl3
Today, our country is confronting a host of issues ranging from economic crunch to more basic challenge of peace and security. Our people are living in a war zone, especially in northern part of our country. Every other day, we hear of a terrorist activity and resultant killings of dozens of innocent citizens. People are sending their kids to educational institutions under strong threat of their security. Our children are growing and youth is living under constant threat to their lives.

In all this mayhem, what makes one thoroughly disappointed is our people’s propensity of being manipulated by so many actors of power game and a highly “corporatized” media, often against the larger good of our beloved country, but for the benefit of few stakeholders of the system.

It is high time to realize our own responsibility instead of putting blames on irresponsible media, “incapable” politicians and ready-to-grab-power institutions of tis fateful country. Let’s try to see where we can make our contribution towards better future of our next generations and of our country.

Let me cite here, how the initiatives from people and the civil society have been preventing war between Peru and Ecuador.  In 1995, for the third time since 1941, Peru and Ecuador went to war. There were calls for a cease-fire, a separation of forces, and negotiations to find a definitive settlement to the longest-running  border dispute in the Western Hemisphere. The diplomatic initiatives concluded, eventually, with the signing of a peace accord on 26 October 1998, in Brasilia. Running parallel to the diplomatic moves, was a process referred to as “citizen diplomacy”—an initiative in which civil-society groups discussed issues underlying the conflict, and ways of resolving it without official and diplomatic constraints.

Similarly, older people – the senior citizens – came out to play their role in resolving the political turmoil in Kyrgyzstan in 2005. A report by HelpAge International states that due to the turmoil, pensions of older people were suspended. They came out and negotiated peace between the conflicting factions of political parties.

But this is not about launching a “mass movement”, it is just to realize our own responsibility and then thinking together what the people can do constructively to get the country out of this labyrinth of problems.

With this view, I’ve launched a series of on-line seminar, for which I’m very grateful to  Ms. Zoia Tariq, for helping me mature this idea. I invite all of you to kindly participate in this seminar under this and post your comments / suggestions. We’ll compile all your recommendations and suggestions into a citizen’s resolution and then put it to action.

You can also place your comments on my Facebook page, http://www.facebook.com/pages/Marvi-Sirmed/54285023894?ref=ts Earnestly waiting for your contribution!

67 thoughts on “What Can People Do For Peace?

  1. A.M.H.Kango says:

    Now that some one has taken lead and cited some wonderful examples, I have just to say that we in Pakistan are facing an internal strife which has stemmed from our philosophy of the supremacy of religion, that I myself consider to be the best, but is practiced in the worst manner. All the strife is based on self-proclaimed ideologies and unless we rise above all these petty considerations and achieve ideological emancipation to settle on principles which are common and leave the rest to each others logic and don’t contest, then and then alone peace would be achieved. But the strife has assumed such proportions that tit for tat has been considers the solution. The only remedy to this is to resist our brothers who fan the fire. These are the media, mosque and malevolent arenas. Besides point out individuals amongst us whose brain needs washing so that they do not play in the hands of miscreants or are led away for propaganda. Act now for the sake of your beloved country. Don’t wait for others to act.

    Like

  2. Allena Mcadams says:

    Thanks a lot for your efforts to have had these things together on this weblog. Jack and that i very much liked your input through your articles with certain things. I’m sure that you have a number of demands on schedule therefore the fact that a person like you took all the time just like you did to help people really like us via this article is also highly treasured.

    Like

  3. Travel Offers says:

    Hi I love this post and it is so informational and I am definetly going to bookmark it. One thing to say the Indepth analysis you have done is trully remarkable.No one goes that extra mile these days? Bravo!! Just another suggestion you shouldinstall a Translator for your Global Readers !

    Like

  4. Merilyn says:

    Thanks a lot for taking the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love learning more on this topic. If possible, as you gain expertise, would you mind updating your site with more information? It is extremely helpful for me. Best wishes, Merilyn.

    Like

  5. credit cards says:

    Can I simply say what a relief to find someone who truly is aware of what theyre speaking about on the internet. You definitely know tips on how to convey a problem to mild and make it important. More individuals have to learn this and perceive this side of the story. I cant imagine youre not more common because you undoubtedly have the gift.

    Like

  6. kortingscode says:

    I have been meaning to read this and just never obtained a chance. Its an issue that Im really interested in, I just started reading and Im glad I did. Youre a fantastic blogger, one of the best that Ive seen. This weblog undoubtedly has some facts on topic that I just wasnt aware of. Thanks for bringing this stuff to light.

    Like

  7. garden rakes says:

    I really wanted to develop a simple word to be able to appreciate you for all of the amazing guides you are sharing here. My rather long internet research has at the end been recognized with extremely good facts and techniques to go over with my colleagues. I would say that many of us visitors are unquestionably lucky to live in a very good network with very many perfect people with helpful tips. I feel quite privileged to have come across your entire weblog and look forward to so many more awesome minutes reading here. Thanks a lot once again for all the details.

    Like

  8. computer forensics says:

    Yesterday found your site while browsing on bing for some information.Impressed by the quality of information on this website. There are a lot of good info here. Bookmarked your site, so I am sure I will visit again soon.

    Like

  9. golf training aids says:

    Very good website you have here but I was curious if you knew of any forums that cover the same topics talked about here? I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get suggestions from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thank you!

    Like

  10. Forrest Jenny says:

    I precisely desired to thank you so much again. I’m not certain the things that I could possibly have worked on without the actual pointers provided by you over such a topic. It became an absolute depressing condition in my opinion, however , looking at this well-written manner you resolved the issue took me to weep over happiness. Extremely happy for your support and then sincerely hope you know what an amazing job you have been putting in training others through your site. Most probably you have never got to know all of us.

    Like

  11. opticians northumberland says:

    I do like the manner in which you have presented this matter plus it does supply me personally some fodder for thought. On the other hand, through what precisely I have personally seen, I really trust when other commentary pack on that men and women remain on point and not start on a soap box regarding the news du jour. Yet, thank you for this excellent piece and even though I do not concur with this in totality, I respect the perspective.

    Like

  12. Ultimate mmorpg 2010 says:

    Hi, i highly recommend you on earth do you say to us the reason do you decide on that will since i am rather than satisfied bring about i do not observe in which does one wat to arrive discussing that?? a part variety the idea you have a great weblog! Goodness me close to forget about the sitemap just isn’t functioning. With thanks Jonh.

    Like

  13. pickup artist says:

    Congratulations on possessing actually one among some of the subtle blogs Ive arrive across in some time! Its simply superb how much you’ll be able to take into account away from a thing principally merely due to how visually stunning it is. You’ve place collectively an amazing weblog site area –nice graphics, films, layout. That is definitely a must-see website!

    Like

  14. Loreta Mavris says:

    I recently came across your article and have been reading along. I want to express my admiration of your writing skill and ability to make readers read from the beginning to the end. I would like to read newer posts and to share my thoughts with you.

    Like

  15. led grow lamp says:

    The various kinds of these lamps include High Pressure Sodium (HPS) Lamps, Incandescent Grow Lights, LED Grow Lights and . While alot or mostof them have been chosen at one point and are continuoly utilizedin this point of time to some extent, LED Grow Lighting are the chosen lamps begining since the point in time they were invented.

    Like

  16. Masaż Lublin says:

    I have to express some thanks to the writer just for rescuing me from this type of issue. Right after browsing through the the web and seeing notions that were not helpful, I was thinking my life was done. Existing devoid of the answers to the difficulties you’ve fixed by way of your good review is a serious case, as well as the kind that would have in a wrong way affected my career if I hadn’t discovered your blog. Your personal knowledge and kindness in handling all the pieces was tremendous. I don’t know what I would have done if I hadn’t come upon such a subject like this. I can now look ahead to my future. Thanks so much for the specialized and effective help. I won’t think twice to recommend your web site to any person who needs to have support about this topic.

    Like

  17. the best bluetooth says:

    I precisely desired to appreciate you once again. I’m not certain the things I would’ve implemented without those opinions shared by you regarding my theme. It was before a very scary case in my position, nevertheless spending time with a specialized form you resolved it forced me to leap with contentment. I am just thankful for this advice and then hope that you find out what an amazing job you have been carrying out teaching many others all through your blog post. Most probably you’ve never got to know any of us.

    Like

  18. car dealerships in colorado says:

    Yesterday found your website while browsing on google for some information.Thanks for the nice blog. It’s been very useful for me. Keep sharing ideas like this and we’ll all profit from them. Glad I found your blog! Thanks for sharing the info with us.

    Like

  19. Randy Meck says:

    I have learned some points through your blog post. One other stuff I would like to convey is that there are several games out there designed particularly for preschool age youngsters. They consist of pattern identification, colors, wildlife, and forms. These commonly focus on familiarization as opposed to memorization. This helps to keep little kids engaged without sensing like they are learning. Thanks

    Like

  20. car york york says:

    Today found your website while browsing on google for some information.Love the website. Have you thought about RSS Feeds as a traffic source for your blog. They work for me, and bring me a nice bit of traffic.

    Like

  21. bar stools says:

    Just Now found your blog while browsing on bing for some information.Found this post provided very useful info. Hope to see more similar posts soon! Enjoyed the comments as well.

    Like

  22. DeLonghi Coffee Machines says:

    Just Now found your site while browsing on yahoo for some information.This is my first visit. I found so many entertaining posts on your blog. From the tons of comments on your posts, looks like you have a real interested crowd visiting regularly! Kudos!

    Like

  23. brand design says:

    Can I just say what a relief to find someone who actually knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people need to read this and understand this side of the story. I cant believe youre not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

    Like

  24. Doyle Guichard says:

    Google’s recent change to its search algorithm has dramatically shaken up the businesses of websites that moved up or down its search rankings. Sites whose rankings rose to the top found that their traffic and revenue soared — but the adjustment had an equally devastating effect on those that were dropped.The reason behind the drop in positions of some websites is hidden in their total website structure,not only the backlink structure,but also the content of the website,the placing of ads,etc.Now,it is more than ever important to include high quality,original content in your websites.With that said,the game is getting tougher and tougher and few will survive to rank their websites for the competitive terms they are after.Use high quality original content,high quality link wheel/pyramid structures and quality backlinks for your site in order outrank your competitors.

    Like

  25. Brand agencies guildford says:

    Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  26. cpanel hosting says:

    I believe that is a fascinating element, it made me assume a bit. Thanks for sparking my considering cap. From time to time I am getting such a lot in a rut that I just feel like a record.

    Like

  27. Travel says:

    Nicely, tonight when she wants it, give it to her. She will tell you she is broke, and just act surprised, and say Uh-Oh I guess you wore it out If she asks for another one just tell her,I’m sorry mommy doesnt have anymore Based on your child she could cry or be upset just a little at bedtime, or she could just throw it away and by no means need it again. However it will not take lengthy. Keep in mind,let her throw it away. Let it be her decision. And do not have any fixed binkies around.Let me know how it goes.

    Like

  28. autism spectrum quotient says:

    I love just what exactly this topic has been doing for me and people near me. Through knowledge of the particular tips you have given will really make you an even better person and more helpful for yourself, family and your community. I admit I wouldn’t know much like yourself on this issue and I believe that over time, with more return visit to your blog, I can become an expert like you. I’ve a lot to learn. This can be a lot of work and i also believe the time spent on your site would be worth the amount of of effort.

    Like

  29. mlm companies says:

    The next time I read a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as much as this 1. I mean, I know it was my selection to read, but I really thought youd have some thing fascinating to say. All I hear is actually a bunch of whining about some thing which you could fix should you werent too busy searching for attention.

    Like

Leave a Reply

