NRO Actually! (1st Instalment of Truth)

NRO collage aBefore I write something about my own personal take on NRO and its legitimacy, I would like to analyze what it actually is and what it is about. While we hear a lot about in the media (generally biased against one party or the other), it is all the more necessary to look into what this word NRO means, what document it is and what it means to the politics in Pakistan. Since the writing could take many pages, and I’m doing it in detail clause by clause, I think we should make it easier for the reader to grasp the information in easiest possible way.

I would apologize from my lawyer friends for not writing this piece in a way they are used to read legislations in. And it is mainly because this piece is intended to serve lay people instead of technical professionals in the field of law. I would try my best to refrain from the legal jargon as far as it is possible. Even then, if there’s something beyond the understanding of a common person (me included), I would request the reader to kindly bring it in the comments so that we could collectively try to understand it. For the purpose of making the continuity easy, I’m calling these pieces “Instalments of Truth”, and this is the first instalment!

I often hear and read comments by lay-persons, saying that NRO was “signed” by Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto. Now, here’s where the folly lies! NRO is an abbreviated form of National Reconciliation Ordinance 2007, which is a piece of legislation. Legislation, as we all know, is a forte of the parliament in a parliamentary democracy like Pakistan. Pakistan, like many other nation satates, follows West Minster style of parliamentary system (UK, India, Australia, Canada to name few of the parliaments that follow West Minster). There is a corresponding system of government, commonly called Jeffersonian Parliaments, commonly called Presidential form of government (mainly USA). In a West Minster style parliamentary system like the one followed by Pakistan, President is the ceremonial head of the state, who has limited role in legislation.

According to the powers conferred upon the president, by the Constitution of Pakistan 1973, the President can issue an Ordinance as a piece of legislation when the Parliament is not sitting. Exercising the same power, General (now retired) Pervaiz Musharraf issued an ordinance called National Reconciliation Ordinance 2007, commonly known as NRO. Since it was an Ordinance, it was signed by the President of Pakistan, not by any political party sitting outside the government at that point in time. It is however, debatable, how this ordinance came into being. Without getting into the details of its origin for the time being, we’d go to what it says. The readers can refer to the original text of the NRO wherever s/he deems necessary, which I’ve already put on one of my blogs under the link: http://marvi-sirmed.blogspot.com/2009/10/national-reconciliation-ordinance-2007.html

The Ordinance has seven distinct Sections. Section I deals with the title of the Ordinance as is the usual practice of drafting a legislation.

Section II deals with an amendment in the Criminal Procedures Code (CrPC), which has been there since 1898. This Section of NRO amends section 494 of the CrPC, which empowered only the Prosecutor Generals to withdraw pending Criminal cases. After the amendment introduced by NRO, the Boards at Federal and Provincial Levels could be constituted to review the cases pending from 1st January 1986 to 12 October 1999.  These Boards will see if the accused persons in these cases have been falsely involved in these cases on politically motivated reasons. In this case, the Review Boards thus created, can recommend withdrawal of cases to the respected governments.

These Review Boards would be of two types: Provincial and Federal. The Provincial Boards will be chaired by respectable retired Judges of High Courts and will comprise Advocate General / Prosecutor General and the Provincial Law Secretaries. The Federal Board will be chaired by a retired judge of the Supreme Court and will have Attorney General and Federal Law Secretary as its member, while both of these Boards would be appointed by federal and provincial governments as the case may be.

It is noteworthy here that NRO does not bind the federal and provincial governments to act upon the recommendations of the Review Boards. So, if any of the government doesn’t want to withdraw any of the cases, there’s no binding on them to comply with the Boards’ recommendations. In other words, the status of the Boards is recommendatory, not obligatory. It should also be noted here that this particular clause was included on the insistence of MQM, who was part of discussions made on such legislation. The dates mentioned in this section provide cover to the criminal cases made on MQM during the period from 1986 to 1999.

63 thoughts on “NRO Actually! (1st Instalment of Truth)

  1. Mckinley Underwood says:

    Howdy very nice site!! Man .. Excellent .. Superb .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally…I’m satisfied to find a lot of useful info right here in the submit, we want work out extra strategies in this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

    Like

  2. Keyboard Stands says:

    Wonderful goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely wonderful. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it sensible. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is actually a great web site.

    Like

  3. Sleeping Bags Review says:

    What?s Going down i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It positively useful and it has aided me out loads. I am hoping to give a contribution & help different users like its helped me. Great job.

    Like

  4. Garage Door Installations in San Diego says:

    An impressive share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a little analysis on this. And he in fact bought me breakfast because I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If possible, as you become expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more details? It is highly helpful for me. Big thumb up for this blog post!

    Like

  5. best mmorpg 2010 says:

    Hi, you need to are you able to say to us why does one select that since im definitely not joyful result in we you should not discover in which don’t you wat to succeed in referring to that?? a part type it you do have a excellent web log! Goodness me in the vicinity of neglect your current sitemap seriously isn’t doing work. Many thanks Jonh.

    Like

  6. Titus Novel says:

    How are you ?, I have to say thank you to the entire autor with the site. Virtually all is evident and so very helpful. Design and style could also be dazzling to me. Do you you need to phon you is there much arrangement might you work with? thanks once more in addition to go on the actual be effective.

    Like

  7. traffic grab bonus says:

    SEO related niche are getting popular today and everybodies are racing to have their share in the pie, that is why your post are flooding with unrelevant comments too, well anyways, I came accros to this site that teaches techniques in the business, you can check out this Visit This I hope you have a nice day!

    Like

  8. laying paving slabs says:

    I want to express my appreciation for your generosity giving support to all those that have the need for guidance on this important issue. Your personal commitment to getting the solution all-around had become extraordinarily productive and has without exception empowered folks just like me to realize their goals. Your entire insightful help and advice denotes a lot a person like me and further more to my fellow workers. Warm regards; from each one of us.

    Like

  9. hosting says:

    I think that may be a fascinating element, it made me think a bit. Thank you for sparking my thinking cap. Sometimes I am getting so much in a rut that I simply really feel like a record.

    Like

  10. opticians england says:

    Virtually all of what you mention happens to be astonishingly precise and it makes me wonder the reason why I hadn’t looked at this with this light previously. This particular piece truly did turn the light on for me as far as this specific topic goes. But there is actually one particular position I am not necessarily too comfy with and whilst I make an effort to reconcile that with the actual main theme of your issue, allow me observe what the rest of the subscribers have to say.Nicely done.

    Like

  11. las vegas deals says:

    Recently found your website while browsing on yahoo for some information.Thank you for the great blog. You obviously are quite an authority on the subject, and you write with clarity. Learned a lot from your posts.

    Like

  12. click here says:

    I do know this isn’t exactly on subject, however i have a web site utilizing the same program as properly and i am getting troubles with my comments displaying. is there a setting i am lacking? it’s attainable chances are you’ll assist me out? thanx.

    Like

  13. cooking says:

    Recently found your blog while browsing on bing for some information.I love what you have done here. You seem to have developed quite a community here. Shows what a bit of useful info without the frills is what most people are looking for.

    Like

  14. what is the best bluetooth headset says:

    I intended to write you that tiny remark to help thank you so much over again over the magnificent thoughts you’ve shown at this time. It is quite tremendously generous of people like you to supply without restraint all a number of us would have advertised for an ebook to end up making some dough on their own, specifically considering the fact that you might have done it in the event you wanted. The smart ideas in addition worked to become good way to be sure that other individuals have the same eagerness just like my very own to know good deal more related to this issue. I’m certain there are a lot more pleasant sessions ahead for individuals who scan through your blog post.

    Like

  15. led grow lamps says:

    The various types of these lights include , Incandescent Grow Lights, LED Grow Lights and Metal Halide Lamps. While alot or mostof them have been popular at one time and are continuoly utilizedin this point of time to some level, LED Grow Lighting are the chosen light sources since the point in time they were invented.

    Like

  16. Ariel Scharich says:

    Google’s recent change to its search algorithm has dramatically shaken up the businesses of websites that moved up or down its search rankings. Sites whose rankings rose to the top found that their traffic and revenue soared — but the adjustment had an equally devastating effect on those that were dropped.The reason behind the drop in positions of some websites is hidden in their total website structure,not only the backlink structure,but also the content of the website,the placing of ads,etc.Now,it is more than ever important to include high quality,original content in your websites.With that said,the game is getting tougher and tougher and few will survive to rank their websites for the competitive terms they are after.Use high quality original content,high quality link wheel/pyramid structures and quality backlinks for your site in order outrank your competitors.

    Like

  17. Marijuana Facts says:

    Thank you for sharing excellent informations. Your site is very cool. I am impressed by the details that you have on this web site. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for more articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found just the information I already searched everywhere and simply couldn’t come across. What an ideal website.

    Like

  18. garmin 305 says:

    What I wouldnt give to have a debate with you about this. You just say so many things that come from nowhere that Im pretty certain Id have a fair shot. Your weblog is fantastic visually, I mean people wont be bored. But others who can see past the videos and the layout wont be so impressed with your generic understanding of this subject.

    Like

  19. family nurse practitioner salary says:

    Average salary of a neonatal nurse practitioner with a Masters degree?I want to be a neonatal nurse practitioner OR a neonatologist. I know what neonatologists make a year, i’m just not sure about four years of medical school. Can anyone figure out the salary of this type of nursing WITH the masters. Nothing below.

    Like

  20. xrumer says:

    Most beneficial xrumer services – achieve Top notch search positions plus amazing traffic using our highly effective oneway links deals. Profitable & cheap link building solution of all time! XrumerGod.com – research engine – any backlinks pointing – affiliate internet marketing – search engine optimization techniques – social media marketing

    Like

  21. car hire cardiff says:

    Yesterday found your site while browsing on aol for some information.Thanks for posting this useful and informative information. Just what I was looking for. I’ll be back for more advice.

    Like

  22. Therese Spadoni says:

    I haven’t checked in here for some time as I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are great quality so I guess I will add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

    Like

  23. Tattoo Maker says:

    Thanks,it’s really informative post. And maybe it is not quite in the topic, but I want to ask you for advice. Maybe somebody know sites with good free web design templates?

    Like

  24. Damian Boyenga says:

    Unfortunately, there is something that I notice that needs to be pointed out. It’s something that you might be missing. How many of you currently make any money online? Making money online is a lot more simple than people make it out to be. It’s never too late to get started in Internet marketing and if you are already dabbling in the business, it’s not too late to start becoming successful at it. It just takes owning the right software, and having the right training. Even if you have never heard of press releases, article and marketing or podcasts, you soon will if you use this software. These are all cutting edge tactics that are currently used my Internet marketers and with The Free Money Formula, you get more than 120 minutes of video coaching. So if you are brand new to this, you can grab all the details in the step by step video presentations or if you are already well on your way to being a successful Internet marketer, you can skim through all of that and get right to the 2 very well-rounded pieces of software that come with this package. The 2 pieces of software that you’ll get are article marketing submission & rewriting software, and video submission software that will bring lots of traffic if used correctly. This entire package would be perfect for the newcomer to Internet marketing as well as the seasoned professionals. Go ahead and check it out: http://adf.ly/1WHhr

    Like

  25. Jose Konarski says:

    My bro saved this internet site for me and I have been reading through it for the past couple hrs. This is really going to benefit me and my classmates for our class project. By the way, I enjoy the way you write.

    Like

  26. garmin golf gps says:

    Yesterday found your blog while browsing on google for some information.Impressed by the quality of information on this website. There are a lot of good info here. Bookmarked your site, so I am sure I will visit again soon.

    Like

  27. central heating system says:

    Thanks for your marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author.I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back in the future. I want to encourage one to continue your great job, have a nice afternoon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

